Epsom Derby

The DerbyThe Epsom Derby 2021 — called simply The Derby in racing circles — is taking place during at Epsom Downs Racecourse on 5 June in front of a limited crowd owing to Covid-19 restrictions, while millions will be tuning in from around the world to watch the famous race on TV and online.

When is the 2021 Derby at Epsom?

The 2021 Epsom Derby gets underway at 4.30pm on Saturday 5 June.

Will the Epsom Derby have spectators?

Racing fans are allowed to attend the racecourse at Epsom to watch the Derby, but owing to Covid-19 restrictions tickets were allocated via a ballot and are sold out. Entrance to the racecourse will be limited to ticket holders only, with access to the downs restricted and the hill will be closed during the Derby Festival. However, if you’re hoping to attend, Epsom Derby tickets are still available via a range of hospitality and private dining packages.

Which horses can race in the Derby at Epsom?

The Derby is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies, although few fillies contest the race. This is because they have their own Classic, the Oaks, which is restricted to just fillies. Only entire male horses are eligible – geldings may not take part. View the 2021 Epsom Derby runners.

Has a filly ever won the Derby?

Six fillies have won the Derby, but none since Fifinella in 1916, who also won the Oaks. The most recent filly to run in the race was 1,000 Guineas winner Cape Verdi in 1998. She started as 11/4 favourite, but could only finish ninth.

How long is the Derby race at Epsom?

The Derby at Epsom covers a distance of one mile, four furlongs and 10 yards (2,423 metres).

Who won the 2020 Derby?

The 2020 winner of the Derby at Epsom was the Aidan O’Brien-trained 25-1 outsider Serpentine, who ran away from the field and held on to his lead to produce a shock victory, winning comfortably by 5½ lengths. This performance saw him join the illustrious list of Derby winners since the race began in 1780.

History of the Derby

The Derby was first held in 1780 at the Oaks Estate, and derived its name from the host, the 12th Earl of Derby. It is one of five Group One Classics held in Britain each year. The other Classics are the 1,000 Guineas and 2,000 Guineas, run at Newmarket in late April or early May, the Oaks at Epsom the day before the Derby, and the St Leger, which is held at Doncaster in September. Winning three of these races is described as the Triple Crown.

How can I watch the Derby?

All the action from Epsom can be watched on the main ITV channel on terrestrial TV in the UK from 1.30pm until 5pm on 4 and 5 June, with the Opening Show on ITV4 at 9am on Saturday 5 June.

The latest Epsom Derby 2021 news