The Cheltenham Gold Cup: everything you need to know

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a Grade One National Hunt steeplechase, run over 3 miles 2.5 furlongs with 22 fences, that is held on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival in March. It is the most prestigious race at the Festival, which runs from Tuesday-Friday, and a massive highlight of the National Hunt season.

    When is the 2024 Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup?

    The race gets underway at 3.30pm on Friday 15 March.

    What is the prize money for winning?

    The winner of the 2024 Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase took home £351,687.50 making it the most valuable jumps race in Britain and Ireland after the Grand National.

    Who were the runners in the 2023 race?

    Horse: Galopin Des Champs | Jockey: Paul Townend | Owner: Mrs Audrey Turley
    Trainer: Willie Mullins

    A Plus Tard | Rachael Blackmore | Owner: Cheveley Park Stud
    Henry de Bromhead

    Bravemansgame | Harry Cobden | Owner: John Dance & Bryan Drew
    Paul Nicholls

    Noble Yeats | Sean Bowen | Owner: Robert Waley-Cohen
    Emmet Mullins

    Stattler | Mr P W Mullins | Owner: R A Bartlett
    Willie Mullins

    Conflated | Davy Russell | Owner: Gigginstown House Stud
    Gordon Elliott

    Minella Indo | Mark Walsh | Owner: Barry Maloney
    Henry de Bromhead

    Protektorat | Jockey: Harry Skelton | Owner: Sir A Ferguson, G Mason, J & L Hales
    Dan Skelton

    Ahoy Senor | Derek Fox | Owner: Mrs C Wyler & Pjs Russell
    Lucinda Russell

    Sounds Russian | Sean Quinlan | Owner: Claxby & Co
    Ruth Jefferson

    Hewick | Jordan Gainford | Owner: T J McDonald
    John Joseph Hanlon

    Royale Pagaille | Charlie Deutsch | Owner: Mrs S Ricci
    Venetia Williams

    Eldorado Allen | Brendan Powell | Owner: J P Romans & Terry Warner
    Joe Tizzard

    Get £10 in FREE bets
    Want to place a bet on the current favourite in this race? Sign up to Betway and receive a £10 welcome bet.

    View Deal

    Recent winners

    2023: Galopin Des Champs – read race report
    2022: A Plus Tard – read race report
    2021: Minella Indo – read the race report
    2020: Al Boum Photo – read the race report
    2019: Al Boum Photo – read the race report
    2018: Native River – read the race report
    2017: Sizing John – read the race report
    2016: Don Cossack – read the race report
    2015: Coneygree – read the race report
    2014: Lord Windermere – read the race report
    2013: Bobs Worth – read the race report
    2012: Synchronised – read the race report
    2011: Long Run – read the race report

    Winning-most trainer, horse, jockey and owner

    The all-time leading Cheltenham Gold Cup trainer is Tom Dreaper, who won it a total of five times, thanks to Prince Regent (1946), Arkle (1964-66) and Fort Leney (1968). The all-time most successful horse in the Cheltenham Gold Cup is Golden Miller, who won it a total of five times across five consecutive years – 1932 to 1936. The top all-time Cheltenham Gold Cup jockey is Pat Taaffe, who won a total of four times – three times on Arkle (1964-66) and one on Fort Leney (1968). And the leading Cheltenham Gold Cup owner, Dorothy Paget won it seven times – five times with Golden Miller (1932-36), as well as with Roman Hackle (1940) and Mont Tremblant (1952).

    Most successful previous winners

    Golden Miller: won five consecutive Gold Cups from 1932 to 1936 and in 1934 became the only horse ever to win the Aintree Grand National and the Gold Cup in the same season.

    Cottage Rake: won three consecutive Gold Cups from 1948-1950.

    Arkle: won three consecutive Gold Cups in 1963-1965.

    L’Escargot: won the Gold Cup twice in 1970 and 1971.

    Best Mate: won the Gold Cup three times in 2002-2004, the first three-timer since Arkle.

    About the Gold Cup trophy

    A new Gold Cup is cast every year for the winner of this race each year. The trophy is worth approximately £10,000 and made of 10 ounces of gold. In 2010, a Gold Cup won in 1988 was stolen by thieves from racehorse owner Raymond Mould. Mr Mould won the Cheltenham Gold Cup with Charter Party, ridden by Richard Dunwoody and trained by David Nicholson.

    The history of the Cheltenham Gold Cup

    The first horse race known as the Cheltenham Gold Cup was a flat race run over three miles during a three-day meeting in 1819 and won by a horse called Spectre. The race was run on a course on Cleeve Hill, which overlooks the current Cheltenham racecourse site. The races on Cleeve Hill became popular over the next decade and then interest diminished as steeplechasing became popular.

    On 12 March 1924 the Gold Cup was first run as a chase race at Prestbury Park. The winner was a horse called Splash and he took home prize money of £685.

    It was not until some years later that the Cheltenham Festival and the Gold Cup became the prestigious events that they are today.

    You might also be interested in:

    Horse & Hound magazine, out every Thursday, is packed with all the latest news and reports, as well as interviews, specials, nostalgia, vet and training advice. Find how you can enjoy the magazine delivered to your door every week, plus options to upgrade your subscription to access our online service that brings you breaking news and reports as well as other benefits.

    You may like...