Cheltenham Gold Cup

Cheltenham-Gold-CupThe Cheltenham Gold Cup is held on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival meeting at Cheltenham Racecourse in March. One of the most prestigious prizes in National Hunt racing, this Grade 1 steeplchase is run over 3 miles 2½ furlongs with 22 fences to be negotiated along the way.

The race has been won by such famous names as Arkle, Best Mate, Golden Miller, Kauto Star and Denman. In 2015 Coneygree became the first novice to win the race in more than 40 years.

The Gold Cup is the most valuable non-handicap chase in Britain and the 2021 running has a prize fund of £468,750.

In 2021, the race will be known as the WellChild Cheltenham Gold Cup as the charity takes over from Magners, who sponsored the race in 2019 and 2020. WellChild is a national charity for seriously ill children, but whose headquarters are located in Celtenham.

Recent winners of the Cheltenham Gold Cup:

2020: Al Boum Photo
2019: Al Boum Photo
2018: Native River
2017: Sizing John
2016: Don Cossack
2015: Coneygree
2014: Lord Windermere
2013: Bobs Worth
2012: Synchronised
2011: Long Run
2010: Imperial Commander