Celebrating HOYS supreme ponies of the year: 2003-2019

  • To celebrate the careers of the top ponies in the show ring since HOYS introduced the supreme pony of the year title in 2003, we look back through the H&H picture archives at HOYS supreme ponies of the year, including this year’s winner

    Congratulations to William Calder’s superstar grey mare Coco Bongo who won the 2019 supreme pony of the year title at Horse of the Year Show (HOYS).

    The 10-year-old of unknown breeding started her 2019 HOYS campaign by clearing an up-to-height 13hh working hunter pony track with rider Chloe Lemieux on route to securing a red rosette. The pair were then crowned working hunter pony champions, before an immaculate and flowing show with two cracking gallops saw them scoop top billing in the supreme under judges Tim Price and Terry Court.

    About HOYS supreme pony of the year

    The supreme pony of the year was first crowned at HOYS in 2003. Until then the top ponies of the show went forward to the supreme horse of the year championship.

    In 2014 the number of ponies forward for the supreme increased as all the mountain and moorland (M&M) champions became eligible (ridden pony, working hunter pony and mini pony), rather than only the M&M supreme pony of the year champion, as in previous years.

    M&Ms have taken the supreme pony title on five occasions so far, starting with Welsh Section A Penwayn Ryan in 2003. He was ridden by Laura Collett, who has since gone on to become an successful five-star event rider and represented her country at championship level.

    HOYS supreme pony of the year winners