Ladies’ final is a hard-fought contest at Scope Festival

  • Eight more finals were ticked off on the fourth day at the Cushionbed British Showjumping Scope Festival championships, where the ladies and gents finals went right to the wire, the gents concluding with no double clear.

    The winner on the fastest four faults was Sam Hutton riding Astral 57.

    “This horse has been jumping well. He was on course for a decent win, and this has been our biggest” said Sam.

    By contrast, the ladies’ class proved a hard fought contest, Emma Stoker and China Blue clinching the title with a brilliantly timed round from penultimate draw in the eight strong jump off.

    Cheshire rider Darby Ward scored a championship double in the pony Foxhunter masters and starspotters championship riding Raisa Cestani.

    “She’s so quick and agile” said Darby.

    Taking the final tickets to HOYS for the junior Foxhunter championship were Tegan Jones (Robe Duster), Emily Ward (Adams Fancy), Lauren Blunsdon (Ching Ching) and Jodie Crawford (Morepark Flash).

    Tara Byrrt and My Little Tinker headed a hotly contested jump off in the National 128cm primary championship.

    “There were plenty of turns to fit in” said Tara.

    Abbie Taylor steered inside lines all the way to win the 138cm primary with Ashes Cool Dude who was bought here last year.

    Yorkshire rider Sally Hopkinson produced a flying round to win the under 18 final riding Theunis.

    The National 1.30m title went north of the border to Scottish rider Aileen Craig (Quiberon D) who beat fellow Scot James Smith.

    John Whitaker claimed the top ticket to Birmingham in the National 7&8 year-old qualifier riding the Old Lodge’s Lord of Arabia.

    Also qualifying for Horse of the Year Show were Alex Thompson (Dignity III), Nicole Pavitt (Abeer) and Laura Robinson (Jonti).

    Championship results: Wednesday 31 August
    SJA Services National 128cm primary.—1, My Little Tinker (T Byrtt); 2, Marthas Darling (C Dawson); 3, Pringle (D Walton). SJA Services National 138cm primary.—1, Ashes Cool Dude (A Taylor); 2, Try To Hit Me (G Babes); 3, Pedro De Bronski (F Adams). Squibb Demolition pony Foxhunter masters.—1 & 3, Raisa Cestani & Wischin Chin M (D Ward); 2, Ammanvalley Santino (A Gill). Geoffrey Robinson pony starspotters.— 1, Raisa Cestani; 2, Boyne Ashanti (E O’Dwyer); 3, Monbeg Hero (A Wilks). HBF Equestrian National 1.30m.— 1, Quiberon D (A Craig); 2 & 3, Gibside Smokey Joe & Cumina (J Smith). Tacklockers.com National under 18.—1, Theunis (S Hopkinson); 2, Sunsolde (K Deakin); 3, Papaikou (E O’Dwyer). Smallman Family National ladies.—1, China Blue (E Stoker); 2, Winner IV (L Saywell); 3, Ominerale Courcelle (A Van Essen). Kompeet National gents.—1, Astral 57 (S Hutton); 2, Thesaura (M Armstrong); 3, Peter VI (J Hughes).

    You may like...