Late pony change for Olympia BSPS Heritage championships — plus the 40 finalists

  • A late change of pony has been announced for the Blue Chip British Show Pony Society (BSPS) Heritage M&M championships at Olympia, the London International Horse Show, next week.

    Forty animals representing nine of the native breeds, including all of the Welsh sections, are through to the final on Monday, 19 December. However, Lunesdale Dixie (pictured top) is no long eligible to compete.

    A statement from the BSPS said: “Lunesdale Dixie is not able to compete due to a connection with one of the judges.”

    The Fell pony is produced by team Jinks and qualified at the BSPS Heritage championships in September. His ticket has passed to Waterside Black Prince, a Dales pony owned and ridden by Tarnya Shields, instead.

    The judges at Olympia are Sharon Thomas and Kevin Walker (performance), plus Stephen Howard and D Price Jones (conformation).

    Continued below…

    Related articles:

    Here is a complete list of all finalists:


    • Lesley Payne’s Ambra Jacaranda, ridden by Jason Greenaway
    • Tom McManus’s Drummore Prince Charming, ridden by Katie Brown
    • Samantha Fowler on her own Glencarrig Marble
    • The Alfords’ Nire Valley Charlie, ridden by Charlotte Alford
    • Lady Huntingdon’s Slieve Bloom Jill, ridden by Hannah Horton


    • Julie Robinson on her own Moorlandsdale Mia
    • Tarnya Shields on her own Waterside Black Prince


    • J Minns’ Greenholme Caitlin, ridden by Tamsyn Bell-Heather
    • Katherine Marks on her own Hardendale Ray
    • Julie Robinson’s Lunesdale Warrior Queen, ridden by Anna Metcalfe
    • Jenny Crane’s Murthwaite Windrush, ridden by Stephanie Wheway


    • Melanie Stanford’s Benbreac Of Croila, ridden by Matthew Cooper
    • Mrs Brereton’s Dunedin Duncan, ridden by Harriet Dennison
    • Tamsyn Cornall-Howe’s Ellister Islay Mariner, ridden by Sarah Field
    • Edwina Warner’s Strahleven Drumochter, ridden by Clare Fitch

    New Forest

    • Terry Pitcher’s Harveys Magic Moment, ridden by Abigail Staff
    • Lucinda Stapleton’s Marleydenes Nashaal, ridden by Gemma Rees

    Welsh section A

    • Gemma Pallet on Broekland Allesandro
    • Tonwen Hughes’s Uphill James Fox, ridden by Katy Marriott-Payne

    Welsh section B

    • Collette Green on her own and Kathleen Scott’s Cadlanvalley Sandpiper
    • Joyce Newbery’s Cadlanvalley Mr Bojangles, ridden by Tayla Lewis
    • Lucy Glover on her own Carrwood Shimmering Gold
    • Danielle Garner on her own Linksbury Miss Polly

    Welsh section C

    • Lynn Scott’s Lynuck The Snowman, ridden by Aimee Devane
    • The Halls’ Menai Thomas, ridden by Sarah Parker
    • Lynette Bates’ Popsters Joe Black, ridden by Kimberley Bates
    • Alys Lee’s Renvarg Robin Hood, ridden by Richard Clough

    Welsh section D

    • Emma Boardman on her own Dyffryngwy Sir Picasso
    • Catherine Hudson on her own Gwynfaes Macsen Wledig
    • Kelly Jones on her Maescrofta Don Juan
    • Alice Cook on her own Maesyfellin Llew Du
    • Michaela Wood on Martin Wood’s Swchyrhafod Brenin
    • David Lorimer’s Trehewyd Cardi, ridden by Kayleigh Evans


    • Megan Hewitt’s Dunmere Woodruff
    • Debbie Barr’s Hisley Silversmith, ridden by Alice Barr
    • Joyce Newbery’s Newoak Furious, ridden by Sam Roberts
    • Paul Starkie’s Pumphill Bennet, ridden by Aliya Khan
    • Lynda Calcutt’s Shilstone Rocks North Westerly, ridden by Chloe Chubb


    • Maureen Richards’ Dunkery Wigeon, ridden by Frankie Currell


    • A Stevens’ Brinleyview Cammanchee, ridden by Georgia James

    Don’t miss H&H’s live coverage of the BSPS Heritage mountain and moorland championship on Monday, 19 December, starting at 9.30am. The full Olympia magazine report will be on sale Thursday 22 December.

    You may like...