Sports Pony Studbook Society chair recognised at breeders’ awards

  • Celia Clarke, chair and founding director of The Sports Pony Studbook Society (SPSS), has been recognised for her outstanding services to the British sport horse breeding industry.

    Mrs Clarke was presented with SEIB Meritoire, at the Breeder’s Dinner and Awards Ceremony in London on 7 January, having been involved in British breeding for more than 30 years.

    Last year Celia was pivotal in setting up the British Young Breeders society, which successfully sent a team to compete in the World Championships for Young Breeders in Lyon in France.

    Upon receiving the award she said: “I am truly amazed and gratified to be given this award, because as they say at the Oscars, it is the recognition of your work by those in your own field that is really the accolade that matters and the Meritoire is the Oscar of the UK horse breeding world.”

    The Horse & Hound Outstanding Mare award, which recognises a mare who has made a great contribution to British equestrianism and left a legacy to future generations, went to the late Kings Mistress.

    The mare was bred by John and Jane Poole (pictured) and owned by Mary King. She was by Louella Inschallah II and out of Solo Love and was a full sister to No Complaints.

    She had a brief successful eventing career before an injury in the field forced her to retire to stud.

    She has bred many top class foals including four star horses Kings Temptress, Kings Fancy and Kings Gem.

    Kings Temptress won Rolex Kentucky last April and is ranked second in the British Eventing rankings for 2011.

    Award winners included both professional and amateur breeders alike.

    Several small breeders, breeding only one or two horses, had a successful evening.

    Eventing’s Elizabeth Pears and Gemma Harris picked up awards for Grange Koral (by Ko Pilot) and Prima Donna IV (byDonnersong) respectively.

    This was echoed in showjumping where Gemma Plumley’s Kobie (by Animo) bagged the six-year-old award and Lindsay Miller’s Caretino Vantarsi (again by Caretino Glory) lifted the seven-year-old award.

    Baileys Horse Feeds, British Breeding and BEF Futurity Certificates of Meritsponsored by Baileys

    Corouet, by Balou Du Rouet, breeder Sarah Bullimore
    Early Morning, by Chilli Morning, breeder Nick Gauntlett
    Ali Shahrif, by R Ali Bey, breeder Jo Claridge
    Woodlander Wales, by Woodlander Wavavoom, breeder Lynne Crowden
    Pencarder Condors Boy, by Condor, breeder Roy Haggerty
    Woodlander Rock Music, by Woodlander Rockstar, breeder Lynne Crowden
    Fames Dakota, by Dakota Ink Spots, breeder D Butcher
    Partytime, by Thursden Vallye Raphael, breeder Felicity O Sullivan
    Galdiamond Cintillation, by Cendy, breeder Kim Stuart Smith
    Dark De Niro, by De Niro, breeder Mark Massarella
    Amber Gambler, by H Tobago, breeder Beatrice Louise Graham
    She’s A Kinda Majik, by Ecliptic, breeder Frances Ewings
    Raincheck, by Rubinero, breeder Vinca Boorman/S Amos
    Polos Miners Gold, by Pik Polo, breeder Sarah Marie Turpin
    Yawl Hill Maverick, by H Tobago, breeder Kirsty Wiscombe
    Abbeywoods Chocolate Brownie, by Copybush Chiron, breeder Mr S Wilson
    Condor, by Caretino, breeder Roy Haggerty
    Chilli Morning, by Phantomic, breeder Nick Gauntlett
    Bernwode Brokat, by Brillant, breeder Sarah Steggall
    Barcelona, by Breitling W, breeder Suzanne Lavandera
    Elegant C, by Darco, breeder Sue Clarke/Lynne Barker
    Loveden Sea Swallow, by Gigman Jacana, breeder Penny Walster
    Burrowshot Lass, by Nearly A Hand, breeder Kirsty Wiscombe

    Foal award – Woodlander Wild Child (Woodlander Wavavoom), breeder,
    Lynne Crowden, owners, Lynne Crowden, Ferdi Eilberg, Alison Walton
    Yearling award – Lets Dance (Revolution), breeder and owner, Vienna Bayles
    Two-year-old award – Gold Rush (Blue Hors Romanov), breeder and owner, Karen Neild
    Three-year-old award – Danny Kannan (Kannan), breeder and owner, Jonathan Parrott
    Stallion award – Legrande (Lefrvre), breeder, Lothar Kappe, owner, Lynne Al Redha
    Stallion award – Woodlander Wavavoom (Weltregent), breeder and owner, Lynne Crowden
    Mare award – Tenderfoot (Be My Chief), breeder, JR Furlong, owner, Grace Muir (HEROS) homed by Kyrle Arscott

    (Pictured below: Jennie Loriston-Clarke and Lynne Crowden)

    British Eventing Young Horse Awardssponsored by British Eventing

    Four-year-old award – Miss Gemma Harris (breeder) for Prima Donna IV
    (Donnersong), owner, Alex Postolowsky
    Five-year-old award – Mr & Mrs Firmin (breeders) for Blacklaw Thymelord (Dramiro), owner, Mr & Mrs P Smith
    Six-year-old award – Mrs E Pears (breeder) for Grange Koral (Ko Pilot),
    owner, Miss Emily Parker
    Seven-year-old award – Mrs T Hall (breeder) for Seaworthy (McGuigan),
    owner, Miss Sarah Bowe

    British Dressage Young Horse Awardssponsored by British Dressage

    Four-year-old award – Caroline Evans (UK Warmbloods) and Dr E Blass (breeders) for Duke Ellington (Dimaggio)
    Five-year-old award – Lynne Crowden (Woodlander Stud) (breeder) for
    Woodlander Farouche (Furst Heinrich), owner Lynne Crowden, Ferdi Eilberg, Alison Walton
    Six-year-old award – Mrs S Mainprice (breeder) for Donnergrollen (Donnersohn), owner, Mrs J Johnston & Mrs J Jones

    (Pictured below: Jennie Loriston-Clarke and Suzy Mainprice)

    British Showjumping Young Horse Awardssponsored by British Showjumping

    Five-year-old award – Brendon Stud (owner and breeder) for Sussex Caretino (Caretino Glory)
    Six-year-old award – Johnsey Estates (UK) Ltd (owner and breeder) for TJ Kobie (Animo)
    Seven-year-old award – Lindsay Miller (breeder) for Caretino Vantarsi (Caretino Glory), owner, Michael Fursedonn

    Sports Pony Studbook Society British Bred Competition Pony Award
    sponsored by Sports Pony Studbook Society
    Falaza (Libro x Chatter by Embla George), breeder Jane Fowles, owner Allyson Blagg

    Racehorse to Riding Horses Performance Championshipssponsored by South Essex Insurance Brokers and Retraining of Racehorses

    SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse Championship HOYS – Night Prayers,
    owned by Mr & Mrs Michael Jerram and ridden by Katie Jerram
    Tattersalls Thoroughbred Show Horse Championship Hickstead – Treat Em
    , owned by Freda Johnson and Lizzie Richmond and ridden by Lizzie

    SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Dressage Awards
    1st – Theme Park, owned by Derek Frankland and David Trott and ridden by David Trott
    =2nd – Star Of Memory, owned and ridden by Alex Phillips
    =2nd – Elverys, owned and ridden by CharlotteWilson

    SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Endurance Awards
    1st – Quercus Maximus, owned and ridden by Lizzie Livingstone
    2nd – Jack Dawson, owned by Paul Wright and Margaret Donnolly and ridden by Lorna Kidson

    SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Showjumping Awards
    1st – Vite Etoile, owned and ridden by Nicola Braidwood
    2nd – Moritz, owned by Mr & Mrs Barry Barnes and ridden by Clare Valender

    SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Eventing Awards
    1st – Dry Old Party, owned by Jess Mead and ridden by Tom McEwen
    2nd – Seven O Seven, owned by Sophie Bunch and ridden by Sam Penn

    Horse & Hound Outstanding Mare Awardsponsored by Horse & Hound
    King’s Mistress (Louella Inschallah II x Solo Love by Solon Morn), bred by John and Jane Poole and owned by Mary King

    British Equestrian Federation Europeans Excellence Awardsponsored by the British Equestrian Federation
    Teddy, pedigree and breeder unknown, owned by Sally-Ann Brown and ridden by Anne Dunham

    South Essex Insurance Brokers Meritoiresponsored by South Essex Insurance Brokers
    Celia Clarke

    You may like...