Polo: 2015 Queen’s Cup draw announced

  • The draw for this year’s Queen’s Cup was announced at Guards Polo Club on Tuesday evening (12 May).

    The 12 teams entered in this year’s 22-goal competition found out who they would be up against in this prestigious high-goal tournament, with VPS Healthcare Sifani and King Power Foxes kicking off the league matches at Coworth Park next week (19 May at 12pm).

    This will be followed by the current cup holders Zacara taking on RH Polo at 3pm at Guards Polo Club.

    Despite Zacara being without Facundo Pieres this year, they can call upon the 10-goal skills of Juan Martin Nero, who will be playing alongside Brazil’s top player Rodrigo Andrade and the young English player Jack Hyde.

    This year Facundo will team up with his brother, fellow 10-goaler Gonzalito in the King Power Foxes team — one of two entries from the Srivaddhanaprabha family, who also have King Power.

    Ben Soleimani’s RH Polo team is a new addition for 2015, featuring Francisco Elizalde, Nicolas Pieres and Sanitago Von Wernich.

    The world number one Adolfo Cambiaso, who is looking for his ninth Queen’s Cup victory, will be playing with Rashid Albwardy and young Englishman Tom Brodie for the Dubai team.

    The all-British Somerton team will be made up of Jack Richardson, Richard Le Poer, Matt Perry and Ed Hitchman.

    The final of the Queen’s Cup will take place on Sunday 14 June. It is typically watched by The Queen herself, who first presented the trophy to the club in 1960.

    Continued below…

    2015 groups

    Group One

    Sub group A


    King Power


    Sub Group B


    El Remanso

    RH Polo


    Group Two

    Sub group C

    Dubai Polo Team

    VPS Healthcare Sifani

    HB Polo

    Sub group D

    King Power Foxes

    UAE Polo

    Somerton Polo

    For the full lists of teams and match details visit www.guardspoloclub.com

    You may like...