Showing judges announced for HOYS 2017

The countdown to next year’s Horse of the Year Show (HOYS) has begun for showing competitors, with the announcement of the judges who will officiate in 2017.

British Show Pony Society (BSPS) national chair Pat Pattinson will judge the horse and pony supremes with BSPS executive officer Joy Hall.

Both ladies served as marking stewards in the-now TopSpec (formerly Caldene) showing arena since the show moved from Wembley to the NEC in 2002, and retired from their posts after the 2015 show.

“We are extremely honoured and very excited to have been asked to judge the supremes,” said Pat, also a panel judge for more than 20 years. “We are delighted to see the enthusiasm that people have for competing at this show – and indeed in showing across the board. To win a supreme title at HOYS has to be the pinnacle of anyone’s showing career, so it is an enormous privilege for us to be in a position to decide it.”

The names of the Cuddy (in-hand) judges were kept secret last year and revealed only at the show – a move described by Grandstand chief Sandy Anderson at the time as: “Just an idea to get people talking and speculating, all contributing to the element of suspense and excitement.”

However this has now reverted to the usual procedure and next year’s judges will be Scottish Borders-based Pat Stirling and Beverley Daffurn, from Gloucestershire.

Related articles:

HOYS 2017 showing judges

Other judges are:

Show ponies – Jodie Briers, Pam Prickett

Cobs – John Newborough, Michael Cooper

Coloureds – Karen McTiffin-Thomas, James Munro

Hacks – Christina Day, Melissa Richardson

Harness – Caroline Douglas, Gordon Marks

Intermediate show hunters – Bryan Smart, Joanne Dean

Intermediate show riding types – Janet Hoyle, Diane Jordan

Junior M&M – Claire Smalley, Ann Grummitt

Ladies’ side saddle – Jo Jefferson, Rebecca Harvie

Lead rein pony of hunter type – Diane Jordan

M&M mini – Robert Parker-Jones

M&M ridden – Ann Nicholls, Jackie Cooper

M&M workers – Rachel Bown, Madge Taylor

Maxi cobs – John Newborough, Michael Cooper

Mini show ponies – Joanne Dean

Miniatures – Christina Day

Racehorse to Riding Horse – TBC

British ridden heavy horses – John Peacock, John Conifey

Ridden partbreds – Claire Smalley, Ann Grummitt

Ridden purebred Arabs – Ann Hooley, Victoria Ayling

Riding horses – Angela Lance and TBC

Shire horses – Delma Nulty

Show hunters – Alun Edmunds, Robin Sharp

Show hunter ponies – Clare Dew, Sharon Thomas

Small Show Hunter of the Year – Andrew Spalding, Andrew Collins

Working hunters – Andrew Spalding, Andrew Collins

Working hunter ponies – Amanda Jones, Fiona Cabrol