Top British players head for Snow Polo World Cup

  • Some of Britain’s top polo players will be heading to St Moritz, Switzerland next month to play in the Snow Polo World Cup (30 January – 1 February).

    There are seven nations representing four-high goal teams including six British players.

    Max Charlton (7) and fellow Brit Chris Hyde (7) will be aiming for a hat-trick having won the tournament in 2013 and 2014 alongside Australia’s Jonathan Munro Ford. This year Jonathan’s Cartier team will be joined by new member, Jamie Morrison (3).

    Another British trio — Max Hutchinson (3), Richard Le Poer (6), James Harper (6) — will be playing in the Badrutt’s Palace Hotel team alongside Ireland’s Richard Fagan.

    The other two teams — BMW and Trois Pommes — will be made up of a mixture of players from Switzerland, Argentina, Italy and Germany.

    The defending champions Cartier will open the tournament on Friday 30 January when they take on the Trois Pommes.

    St Moritz was the birthplace of snow polo with the first tournament being played on the town’s frozen lake in 1985.

    The tournament is also famous for its glitz and glamour. Every year more than 12,000 private jets land in the resort which a large proportion touching down for the tournament.

    The prestigious event attracts 15,000 spectators including European royalty and some of Hollywood’s biggest names.

    Team lists:

    Team Trois Pommes
    1 Tutti Wolfensberger (1) Team Captain
    2 Cedric Schweri (0)
    3 Pepe Riglos (6)
    4 Piki Diaz Alberdi (7)

    Team BMW
    1 Rommy Gianni (1) Team Captain
    2 Paolo Netzsch (1)
    3 Dario Musso (7)
    4 Lucas Labat (6)

    Team Badrutt’s Palace Hotel
    1 Richard Fagan (1)Team Captain
    2 Max Hutchinson (3)
    3 Richard Le Poer Beresford (6)
    4 James Harper (6)

    Team Cartier
    1 Jonathan Munro Ford (0)
    2 Max Charlton (7)
    3 Chris Hyde(6)
    4 Jamie Morrison (3)

    You may like...