The Cheltenham Festival Queen Mother Champion Chase: everything you need to know

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • The Queen Mother Champion Chase is a Grade One National Hunt steeplechase race, run over two miles with 13 fences to jump. The race is held on the second day of the Cheltenham Festival in March, which runs from Tuesday-Friday, and is a massive highlight of the National Hunt season.

    When is the 2024 Queen Mother Champion Chase?

    The race will get underway at 3.30pm on Wednesday 13 March.

    Who were the runners in the 2023 race?

    Horse: Edwardstone | Jockey: Tom Cannon | Owner: Robert Abrey & Ian Thurtle
    Trainer: Alan King

    Energumene | Paul Townend | Owner: Tony Bloom
    Willie Mullins

    Editeur De Gite | Niall Houlihan | Owner: The Preston Family, Friends & T Jacobs
    Gary Moore

    Greanateen | Harry Cobden | Owner: Chris Giles
    Paul Nicholls

    Nube Negra | Harry Skelton | Owner: T Spraggett
    Dan Skelton

    Captain Guinness | Rachael Blackmore | Owner: Declan Landy
    Henry de Bromhead

    Funamble Sivola | Charlie Deutsch| Owner: My Racing Manager Freinds
    Venetia Williams

    What are the odds for this year’s runners?

    The following odds were correct at the time of publishing and may vary between bookmakers.

    Runners for 2024 race are to be confirmed.

    Get £10 in FREE bets
    Want to place a bet on the current favourite in this race? Sign up to Betway and receive a £10 welcome bet.

    View Deal

    What was the prize money?

    The winner of the 2024 Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase will take home £225,080.

    Recent winners

    2023: Energumene – read race report
    2022: Energumene – read race report
    2021: Put The Kettle On – read the race report
    2020: Politologue – read the race report
    2019: Altior – read the race report
    2018: Altior – read the race report
    2017: Special Tiara – read the race report
    2016: Sprinter Sacre – read the race report
    2015: Dodging Bullets – read the race report
    2014: Sire de Grugy– read the race report
    2013: Sprinter Sacre – read the race report
    2012: Finian’s Rainbow – read the race report
    2011: Sizing Europe – read the race report

    Winning-most trainer, horse, jockey and owner

    There are three all-time leading Queen Mother Champion Chase trainers; Nicky Henderson, Tom Dreaper and Paul Nicholls who each have six wins between them. The winning-most horse in the race is Badworth Boy, who won it three times (1983-85). Two jockeys have won the race five times, which is the current record — these are Pat Taaffe and Barry Geraghty. And there are three leading owners in this race; George Ansley, Doug Armitage and John Hales — they have each won three runnings of the race.

    The history of the Queen Mother Champion Chase

    This race was established in 1959, and it was originally called the National Hunt Two-Mile Champion Chase. It was given its present title in 1980 — the year of the Queen Mother’s 80th birthday — in recognition of her support to jump racing. The Queen Mother was a successful owner of National Hunt horses, particularly chasers, and among these was Game Spirit — the runner-up in this race in 1976.

    You might also be interested in:

    Horse & Hound magazine, out every Thursday, is packed with all the latest news and reports, as well as interviews, specials, nostalgia, vet and training advice. Find how you can enjoy the magazine delivered to your door every week, plus options to upgrade your subscription to access our online service that brings you breaking news and reports as well as other benefits.

    You may like...