Olympia Horse Show World Cup dressage entries promise top sport

  • The list of riders nominated to compete in the FEI World Cup dressage qualifier at Olympia Horse Show (16-22 December) has been released and includes 3 of the 4 bronze medal-winning British team riders from this year’s European Championships.

    World No.1 Charlotte Dujardin is nominated on both Valegro (pictured) and Uthopia, though H&H columnist Carl Hester has confirmed that Valegro is the more likely starter. Carl will ride Gemma Green’s Florestan stallion Fine Time, with whom he is the current British Dressage national champion.

    A total of 9 British riders have made the starting line-up.

    Lara Griffith will make her Olympia debut with Laura Tomlinson’s former ride Andretti H. Roland Tong, riding for Ireland, will also make his debut on his Europeans ride Pompidou.

    Laura is not competing, but will attend Olympia with Mistral Hojris for an official retirement ceremony.

    Emile Faurie partners his new grand prix horse Topolino (by Tip Top), while Michael Eilberg has the choice of either his Europeans ride Half Moon Delphi or Marakov. Judy Harvey, Nikki Crisp and Anna Ross Davies complete the strong British contingent.

    Fans of the popular Dutch couple Edward Gal and Hans Peter Minderhoud will be pleased to see that both are set to compete at the popular show, though it is still uncertain which of their massive string of top level horses they will ride. Dutch rising star and Olympia debutante Danielle Heijkoop comes fresh from dual victories at the CDI4* Oldenburg earlier this month on her Gribaldi son Kingsley Siro.

    Germany’s sole representative, the multi-talented Ingrid Klimke, will ride the British-owned Dresden Mann. The former breeding stallion, now gelded, is only nine.

    British-based Dane Anders Dahl partners his wife Fiona Bigwood’s Wie Weltmeyer gelding Wie Atlantico, while his compatriot Nathalie zu Sayn-Wittgenstein will ride the charismatic and high-scoring Donnerhall gelding, Digby.

    The grand prix takes place at 3pm on Monday, 16 December with the freestyle to music the following evening. H&H will be offering free, live, interactive written commentary from the show.

    Definite entries will be announced on 6 December.

    The nominated entries are:

    AUS    BERESFORD, Hayley — Jaybee Alabaster
    AUS    OATLEY, Lyndal — Sandro Boy
    BEL    MISSIAEN, Simon — Vradin
    DEN    DAHL, Anders — Wie Atlantico de Ymas
    DEN    SAYN-WITTGENSTEIN, Nathalie zu — Digby
    GBR    CRISP, Nikki — Pasoa
    GBR    DU JARDIN, Charlotte — Uthopia or Valegro
    GBR    EILBERG, Michael — Half Moon Delphi or Marakov
    GBR    FAURIE, Emile — Topolino
    GBR    GRIFFITH, Lara — Andretti H
    GBR    HARVEY, Judith — Fitzcerraldo
    GBR    HESTER, Carl — Fine Time
    GBR    ROSS DAVIES, Anna — Pegasus MK
    GBR    WATSON, Daniel — Fideramber
    GER    KLIMKE, Ingrid — Dresden Mann
    IRL    DWYER, Kate — Reve Dor
    IRL    TONG, Roland — Pompidou
    NED    ESSEN, Aat van — Macrider Premier or Sebastian
    NED    GAL, Edward — Glock’s Undercover or Glock’s Voice or Interfloor Next One
    NED    GEVERS, Katja — Thriller
    NED    HEIJKOOP, Danielle — Kingsley Siro
    NED    HEUITINK, Joyce — Wup
    NED    MINDERHOUD, Hans Peter — Glock’s Romanov or Glock’s Tango or Glock’s Ziesto
    SWE    HAMILTON, Malin — Fleetwood
    SWE    TELDE, Minna — Santana

    You may like...