Charlotte Dujardin nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year

  • Dressage star Charlotte Dujardin has been nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year (SPOTY).

    The rider, who picked up two individual golds and team silver at this summer’s FEI Alltech World Equestrian Games, has had a stellar year — and has already picked up the Sunday Times/Sky Sports sportswoman of the year award.

    The nominations were revealed on Monday (24 November) on The One Show by 2012 winner Sir Bradley Wiggins.

    Charlotte is one of a shortlist of 10 sports stars up for the award, selected by an expert panel of sports specialists.

    The list also includes Gareth Bale (football), Carl Froch (boxing), Kelly Gallagher and guide Charlotte Evans (skiing), Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1), Rory McIlroy (golf), Jo Pavey (athletics), Adam Peaty (swimming), Max Whitlock (gymnastics) and Lizzy Yarnold (skeleton).

    The 10 will compete for the public vote on 14 December. The live show will be presented by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan on the BBC from Glasgow.

    Voting will be available by phone or online and the number to call for each contestant with be revealed during the show.

    Only four equestrians have won the SPOTY award: AP McCoy in 2010, Zara Phillips (2006), Princess Anne (1971) and David Broome (1960).

    AP was crowned Sports Personality of the Year in 2010 the year in which he won the Grand National on his 15th attempt aboard Don’t Push It. He was the first jockey to win the prestigious title and secured more than 40% of the votes. He was also shortlisted last year, when he finished third.

    Zara Phillips took the award after being crowned world and European eventing champion, beating the bookies’ favourite golfer Darren Clarke to the title.

    In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year there will also be awards for:

    • Team of the Year
    • Coach of the Year
    • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
    • Young Sports Personality of the Year
    • Sports Personality of the Year Lifetime award
    • Helen Rollason award
    • BBC Get Inspired Unsung Hero award

    Watch video interviews with Charlotte Dujardin

    You may like...