AP McCoy nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Record breaking jump jockey AP McCoy — who recently rode his 4,000th winner — has been nominated for the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year award, 3 years after he 1st won the title.

    Earlier this month the 18-times champion jockey rode his 4,000th winner at Towcester on Mountain Tunes, hitting headlines.

    AP was crowned Sports Personality of the Year in 2010 — the year in which he won the Grand National on his 15th attempt aboard Don’t Push It. He was the 1st jockey to win the prestigious title and secured more than 40% of the votes.


    AP McCoy was Sports Personality of the Year in 2010

    He is the 4th equestrian to have been awarded the title, after David Broome in 1960, Princess Anne in 1971 and Zara Phillips in 2006.

    If he is named Sports Personality of the Year for a 2nd time, he joins an elite group. Only 3 other sportsmen — boxer Henry Cooper and Formula One’s Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill have won the award twice.

    The 10 nominees were announced last night (Tuesday 26 November).

    But AP McCoy faces some tough competition. The other contenders are: Ben Ainslie (sailing), Ian Bell (cricket), Hannah Cockroft (wheelchair athletics), Mo Farah (athletics),  Chris Froome (cycling), Leigh Halfpenny (rugby union), Andy Murray (tennis), Christine Ohuruogu (athlethics) and Justin Rose (golf).

    Favourite to win is Wimbledon champion Andy Murray — who is 1/50 with some bookmakers.

    Andy Murray finished 3rd last year behind Sir Bradley Wiggins and Jessica Ennis, despite winning Olympic gold and the US Open. However, his Wimbledon victory this year — becoming the first British man in 77 years to win the title — has propelled him to the top of the list.

    AP is 3rd favourite with prices between 25-1 and 56-1.

    The 10 shortlisted contenders now face the public vote during the live show on BBC 1 on Sunday 15 December. Fans can vote online or by phone through a number revealed on the night.

    The show is presented by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan and starts are 7.40pm.

    For further information visit: bbc.co.uk/sportspersonality.

    You may like...