Celebrating 2014/15 point-to-point champions

  • The 2014/15 season has come to a close following an action-packed six-and-a-half months of point-to-pointing action. Horse & Hound reveals some of the memorable statistics and celebrates the overall championship winners

    The 2014/15 season in statistics

    1 — Monsieur Jourdain became the first horse to win three classic Grimthorpe Gold Cups.

    2 — John Mathias rode six winners on the same card for the second time at the Banwen Miners.

    3 — Jack, Bridget and Gina Andrews became the third trio of siblings to ride winners on the same point-to-point card, at the Thurlow.

    5 — owner-trainer Nigel Padfield won the Essex hunt race for the fifth consecutive season.

    6 wins contributed by The Magherally Man to national novice champion Lara Mahon’s nine-winner tally.

    6 runners saddled by Phillip York in the Berks & Bucks and Staff College & RMAS Draghounds hunt race.

    10 times that Time Gentlemen won at Tabley.

    11 wins achieved by champion trainer (seven horses or fewer) Rachael Green from her two horses — Cock Of The Rock (seven wins) and Silver Token (four).

    14-point margin of victory for Harry Cobden in the Harley Racing novice riders’ table.

    22 races that John Mathias won on Rosies Peacock, the season’s joint-winning horse with Cock Of The Rock.

    38 point-to-points won by Welsh super-mare Chesnut Annie before her retirement in May.

    51 winners saddled by the country’s leading trainer Jack Barber, emulating his grandfather, Richard Barber.

    66-1 — the starting price of Dulverton West maiden race winner Highland Thistle.

    68 — Will Biddick’s record-breaking number of winners, smashing Oliver and Thomas Greenall’s previous record of 56.

    390 — Oliver Greenall (124), Robbie Henderson (98) and Nick Williams’ (168) combined tally of pointing winners before their retirements.

    Point-to-point championship winners

    Men’s championship
    Will Biddick (68 wins)

    Women’s championship
    Gina Andrews (29 wins)

    Men’s novice riders
    Harry Cobden (13)

    Women’s novice riders
    Lara Mahon (9)

    Leading horse
    Cock Of The Rock and Rosies Peacock (7 each)

    The Princess Royal Trophy (leading lady novice u21)
    Lottie Crane

    The Wilkinson Sword (leading male novice u21)
    Harry Cobden

    Harley Racing National novice riders’ race champion
    Harry Cobden

    PPORA young horse award national champion
    Volcan Surprise

    PPORA/Jockey Club best performing novice mare
    Miss Gotaway

    AGA iTotal Control champion
    Hannah Lewis

    Connolly’s Red Mills champion trainer
    Jack Barber (8+ horses), Rachael Green (7 or fewer horses)

    Area award winners

    Devon & Cornwall

    Riders: Darren Edwards, Leanda Tickle
    Novices: David Noonan, Hannah Welch
    Owner: The Bradley Partnership
    Horse: Dicky Bob

    East Anglia

    Riders: Dicky Collinson, Gina Andrews
    Novices: Jack Andrews, Kate Gowing
    Horse: It Was Me/Play The Ace (joint)


    Riders: Tom Strawson (gentleman, overall), Kelly Morgan (lady)
    Novice: Kelly Morgan
    Horses: Gonalston Cloud (overall, novice), She’s Real (mare)
    Family: Mr M and Mr H Burt (Murphy’s Promise)


    Riders: Nick Orpwood, Catherine Walton
    Novice: Sam Coltherd
    Horse: Milano Magic (overall), Damiens Dilemma (novice)
    Hunt: Percy

    North Western

    Riders: Paddy Gerety, Jane Williams
    Novice: Peter Bryan
    Veteran: David O’Brien
    Horses: Fruit Fayre (overall), Lotus Pond/Radio Nowhere/Cooladerry King/Alfiethegreat (joint/novice), Numbercruncher/Lotus Pond/Radio Nowhere (joint/family)

    South East

    Riders: Philip Hall, Ella Darwin
    Novices: Charlie Marshall, Ella Darwin
    Horse: Behind The Scenes (overall), Come On You/De Clare Man/Spiritofchartwell (joint/novice), Simonsruudt (homebred)

    South Midlands

    Riders: Joe Hill, Claire Hart
    Novice: Freddie Henderson
    Horses: Dabinett Moon (overall, mare)
    Trainer: Alan Hill

    South Wales and Monmouthshire

    Riders: John Mathias (any area, S & W Wales), Bradley Gibbs (S Wales resident), Jodie Hughes (S & W Wales)
    Novices: Emma Moseley (S & W Wales), Paul Sheard (S Wales)
    Horses: Rosies Peacock (S & W Wales), Bobs Law (open/hunter chase, S Wales), Watch The Birdie (mare, S & W Wales), Banned In Bhutan/Moontripper/My Coranna (joint/maiden, S Wales), Rosies Peacock (older horse, S & W Wales)

    Welsh Border Counties

    Riders: James Nixon, Elizabeth Reynolds
    Novice: James Nixon
    Veteran: John Chinn
    Owner: Nick Elliot
    Trainer: Alistair Ralph
    Horse: Minellacelebration


    Riders: Will Biddick, Alice Mills
    Novice: David Noonan
    Trainer: Jack Barber (overall), Teresa Clark (small)
    Owner: Harry Cobden (Cock Of The Rock)

    West Midlands

    Riders: Tom Weston, Jane Williams
    Novices: Gus Levinson, Charlotte Treleaven
    Trainer: Tom Weston
    Horses: Be Definite (overall/family), Cecile De Volanges (mare), Thoonavolla (novice)

    West Wales

    Riders: John Mathias (overall, gentleman), Jodie Hughes (lady)
    Novice: Richard Patrick
    Horse: Sir Du Bearn/Harpsy Cord/Dream Bolt (joint)


    Riders: William Easterby, Emma Todd
    Novices: Craig Hoggart, Alice Petch
    Owner: Cherry Coward
    Horses: Opera Og (open), Aldreth (novice), The Dark Duchess (homebred)

    Don’t miss the full report on the final weekend of point-to-pointing in tomorrow’s issue of  Horse & Hound magazine (18 June)

    You may like...