Jockeys of the future celebrated at pony racing awards

Promising young riders were recognised at the Pony Racing Authority (PRA) awards.

Members and families attended an awards dinner on Sunday (29 November) to celebrate the achievements of the youngsters who took part in the Charles Owen Racecourse Series in 2015.

Popular articles

Attendees enjoyed a tour of Nicky Henderson’s yard to meet some of the stars before heading to Sheeprove Eco Conference Centre for a roundup of the year and presentation of awards.

“We would like to thank all the families who have taken part in the series this year, and we look forward to seeing lots of members and lots of new faces on the racecourses next year,” said a spokesman for the PRA.

They thanked the Prince Family, RaceTech and CareersinRacing for their sponsorship of the awards and Charles Owen for their sponsorship of the series.

Award winners

Finals awards

Winner of 148cm final AJ O’Neill
Winner of 138cm final Sophie Smith
Winner of 148cm conditions final Rachael Sharpe
Winner of 138cm conditions final Minty Bloss

Rose bengal awards presented by Richard and Dawn Prince

Rose Bengal leading rider 148cm James Bowen
Rose Bengal leading rider 138cm Sophie Smith

Rose Bengal scholarship awards presented by Richard and Dawn Prince

Rose Bengal scholarship winner 148cm Connor Murtagh

Rose Bengal scholarship runners up 148cm Ben Godfrey
Thomasina Eyston
William Humphrey
Abbie McCain
Connor Brace

Rose Bengal scholarship winner 138cm Tamby Welch

Rose Bengal scholarship runners up 138cm Tyler Heard
Ger Supple
Daniel Cox

RaceTech Graduate Award 2015 presented by Catherine Pullan of RaceTech

Winner Joshua Bryan
Runner up William Cox
Fourth Sam Burton
Fourth Bruce Lynn

CareersinRacing best turned out presented by Zoe Elliot of CareersinRacing

Winner 138cm Tyler Heard and Charlie Todd
Winner 148cm Roy Day

The most widely travelled during 2015 Charles Owen Series

Michael Treneer who took part in 13 Charles Owen Races