Oakley Hunt West Pony Club branch wins mounted games final

  • The Oakley Hunt West branch of the Pony Club was celebrating this weekend after coming away from the Horse of the Year Show (HOYS) as the winners of the Prince Philip Cup.

    The winning mounted games team was made up of Aimee Russell, Jenna Privett, Harry Gates, Thomas Kitchiner, Sally Kitchiner and reserve Samantha Garrett. They are trained by Maureen Thomas.

    The Oakley Hunt West has won the Prince Philip Cup seven times -and last celebrated in 2008.

    They won this year on 122 points – 12 points clear of the second placed Strathearn Branch.

    “This year’s Prince Philip Cup Final was most enjoyable, and it was great to meet the Strathearn Branch team on their first visit to HOYS,” said Ms Thomas.

    “All of the teams got on very well and the Oakley Hunt West are especially close-knit as three of the team members are cousins. Our District Commissioner has alwaysbeen a keen supporter, and as it is her 30th year in office, winning is not a bad way to celebrate.”

    Six Pony Club Branch teams – Oakley Hunt West, Devon and Somerset, Orkney, Cheshire Hunt North, Strathearn and Rockwood Harriers – went forward to the final at HOYS after battling it out at the zone finals around the country during thesummer.

    You may like...