Hardworking stable staff up for awards

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Fifteen hardworking stud and stable staff have been selected as finalists in the 2015 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

    The 15 were chosen from a record number of nominations from across the racing and thoroughbred breeding industry.

    The dozen judges whittled down the 200 nominations to three finalists in each category.

    The £120,000 prize-money is shared between the finalists, with their winnings being matched and shared among their yard by the sponsors Godolphin.

    In the leadership award the three candidates are: Joanne Fowles (nominated by Roger Varian), Kevin Mooney (Charlie Hills) and Richard “Johnson” White (Philip Hobbs).

    The staff up for the dedication to racing award are: Clifford Marsden (Luca Cumani), Robynne Watton (Mark Johnston) and Lesley White (Mick Channon).

    For the stable staff award the three contenders are: Dale Clements (Cheveley Park), Jessica Fortt (Dunraven Stud) and Ron Lott (Shadwell Stud).

    In the rider/groom award category the three finalists are: Simon Archer (Sir Mark Prescott), Steve Nicholson (Ed Dunlop) and Martyn Peake (Lady Cecil).

    The fifth award, the David Nicholson Newcomer is between Tegan Clark (Olly Stevens), Charlotte Clayton (Rae Guest) and Kevin Eggleton (Seamus Mullins).

    “It is such a difficult job to pick just three finalists out of so many deserving nominations,” said Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel and H&H racing columnist.

    “But the finalists this year have received 18 previous nominations, which reflects the highly competitive nature of the awards as well as the fact that perseverance pays off.”

    The winner in each category will be decided at the final stage of the judging on 23 February.

    The winner of the employee of the year award will then be chosen from the winners of the leadership, rider/room, stud staff and dedication to racing categories.

    The winner of the administration award has already been selected by the judges and will be announced with all other winners at the awards ceremony on the evening of 23 February at the Jumeriah Carlton Tower hotel in London.

    You may like...