Nine National Hunt jockeys have been handed 10-day bans by the British Horseracing Authority after failing to stop during a voided race this afternoon (Wednesday 12 October).

AP McCoy, Brian Hughes, Paddy Brennan, Denis O’Regan, Jonathon Bewley, Alexander Voy, Graham Lee, Brian Toomey and Danny Cook will all be suspended from 26 October until 4 November.

Groundstaff at Wetherby waved the yellow flag to signal riders to stop after Ashburton Lad was fatally injured, but the jockeys continued to race.

Brian Hughes on Cunning Clarets finished first, but the race was then voided.