Aintree legends inducted into Grand National Hall of Fame

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Eight former winners – trainers, jockeys and a horse – have been inducted into the Grand National Hall of Fame.

    Fred Winter, Carl Llewellyn, Tommy Carberry, Michael Scudamore and Fred Rimell were all voted in as Aintree legends by the public.

    Three others were chosen by a panel: George Dockeray, who trained Lottery, the first ever winner of the race; three-times race winner Tommy Pickernell, and Bruce Hobbs, together with his horse Battleship – who became the smallest winning horse and youngest winning jockey in 1938.

    An awards ceremony will be held at Aintree racecourse today (Saturday, 14 April), which is Grand National Day.

    This news story was first published in the current issue of H&H (12 April 2012)

    You may like...