British Endurance squad for European Championships named

  • The British Endurance squad has been announced for the European Championships (10 September).

    Alice Beet and Adara Sauveterre, Tricia Hirst and Madjin des Pins, Karen Jones and Macadamia, Catriona Moon and Leila, Christine Yeoman and Richshakfy and David Yeoman riding Haszar will all be travelling to Florac, France.

    The non-travelling reserves are Rachel Atkinson (Vanash), Sally Hall (Barn Owl), Annie Joppe (Dilmun) and Nicky Sherry (Shimmering Blue Jasmine).

    “We have a top class team of riders who all have competed successfully in international rides,” said chef d’equipe Annabelle Scofield.

    “Their horses have all proved that they are capable of the challenging terrain they will meet at Florac and the team will have every chance of delivering a very competitive performance. They have all worked really hard over a number of years as members of the British team squad, to produce well trained and very fit horses.”

    Alice, who is the youngest member of the team at 24, said: “I am really pleased. I know it is going to be mountainous but Adara is a small and compact horse and I know she is ideal for that type of terrain.”

    This championship will be the first time Karen Jones has been on the squad; “It is so exciting and I am very pleased to be selected. We train on the Exmoor hills all the time and he is a hill horse, so we should be suited to Florac.”

    Christine Yeoman added: “We have a really strong team, and most importantly for Florac, the horses are strong. Having a horse that does hills is all important this year and I think we have a strong chance of a team medal.”

    For more information visit: www.endurancegb.co.uk

    You may like...