Could Bertram Allen become the youngest World Cup winner in 30 years?

  • Ireland’s leading showjumper — 19-year-old Bertram Allen (pictured) — lines up as one of 41 riders heading to Las Vegas for the Longines FEI World Cup Jumping Final later this month(15-19 April).

    Sadly no British riders have qualified for this winter finale, which returns to the USA city for the sixth time. But the teenager is one of the favourites to claim the title as he makes his debut in this prestigious competition.

    The youngest rider ever to win the World Cup final was Mario Deslauriers, then competing for Canada, who was 19 when taking the title in Gothenburg, Sweden, in 1984.

    Riders from 19 countries have confirmed their attendance for this year’s competition, including reigning champion Daniel Deusser of Germany and current Olympic champion Steve Guerdat of Switzerland. The qualifiers are:

    Western European league:

    – Steve Guerdat (SUI)
    – Bertram Allen (IRL)
    – Kevin Staut (FRA)
    – Marco Kutscher (GER)
    – Marcus Ehning (GER)
    – Maikel van der Vleuten (NED)
    – Douglas Lindelöw (SWE)
    – Jur Vrieling (NED)
    – Hans-Dieter Dreher (GER)
    – Martin Fuchs (SUI)
    – Geir Gulliksen (NOR)
    – Pénélope Leprevost (FRA)
    – Sergio Alvarez Moya (ESP)
    – Luca Maria Moneta (ITA)
    – Pius Schwizer (SUI)
    – Gerco Schröder (NED)
    – Jos Verlooy (BEL)
    – Patrice Delaveau (FRA)

    Both Lucy Davis (USA) and Edwina Tops-Alexander (AUS) also qualify as “extra athletes” from this league a they are both based in Europe for more than six months of the year and have picked up enough points to qualify along with the top 18 in the Western European league.

    Arab league:

    – Bassem Hassan Mohammed (QAT)
    – Sheikh Ali Bin Khalid Al Thani (QAT)

    New Zealand league:

    – Katie Laurie (NZL)

    South America South league:

    – Joao Eduardo Ferreira de Carvalho (BRA)

    Central European league:

    – Kristaps Neretnieks (LAT)
    – Vladimir Beletskiy (RUS)
    – Andis Varna (LAT)

    North America East Coast league:

    – Todd Minikus (USA)
    – Laura Kraut (USA)
    – Elizabeth Madden (USA)
    – Jack Towell (USA)
    – Kirsten Coe (USA)
    – McLain Ward (USA)
    – Katherina A. Dinan (USA)

    North America West Coast league:

    – Richard Fellers (USA)
    – Karl Cook (USA)
    – Vinton Karrasch (USA)

    North America East and West Coast leagues: Canada

    – Chris Sorensen (CAN)

    North America East and West Coast leagues: Mexico

    – Manuel Alvarez Ruigalindo (MEX)
    – Everardo Hegewisch Diaz Infante (MEX)

    You may like...