Stockdale, Sanctos and Big Star make Rio showjumping long-list

  • Tim Stockdale is ‘delighted’ to have been included in the 15 British combinations nominated for the showjumping at the Rio Olympics.

    The Northamptonshire rider is listed with his relatively new ride Fleur De L’Aube. The 11-year-old bay mare is owned by Majorie and Clark Glasgow and was a former ride of Clark’s. Tim has successfully competed the mare on the Sunshine Tour in Spain this year.

    “She’s been going really well and it is fantastic to be longlisted. We are still a new partnership and I only took on the ride in October before she had a break,” Tim told H&H. “The Olympics has always been a focus for me so I am delighted — I knew the mare was a good one. She’s not had loads of experience at five-star but she is a quality horse.”

    The 15 combinations, including three reserves, were announced yesterday (21 June).

    Less surprising is the news that Nick Skelton and his super stallion Big Star have been included, while Ben Maher has been listed with both Diva II and his new ride Tic Tac — the latter has made Nations Cup appearances this year under Ben.

    Ben’s three European Championships teammates from Aachen last year — the quartet helped gain Olympic qualification with fourth place — are also named, in the form of Michael Whitaker (Cassionato), Jessica Mendoza (Spirit T) and Joe Clee (Utamaro D’Ecaussines).

    Scott Brash meanwhile has been upfront about Hello Sanctos’ chances of returning to full fitness in time for the Olympics, following an eight-week spell on the sidelines through injury. However, the 14-year-old gelding is on the list and if he makes the team it will be his last championships appearance. Joining Sanctos on the list from the Brash yard is also Hello Forever.

    Having produced some solid performances this year at Nations Cups, 60-year-old John Whitaker and the mare Ornellaia have made the cut, while completing the dozen combinations are Guy Williams (Titus) and Robert Whitaker (Catwalk IV).

    The three reserve horses are Untouched (Ben Maher), Viking (Michael Whitaker) and Hello M’Lady (Scott Brash).

    The final four combinations and a travelling reserve will be announced on 5 July.

    The 12 nominations:

    • Nick Skelton and Big Star
    • Ben Maher and Tic Tac
    • Ben Maher and Diva II
    • Michael Whitaker and Cassionato
    • Jessica Mendoza and Spirit T
    • John Whitaker and Ornellaia
    • Joe Clee and Utamaro D’Ecaussines
    • Scott Brash and Hello Forever
    • Scott Brash and Hello Sanctos
    • Tim Stockdale and Fleur De L’Aube
    • Robert Whitaker and Catwalk IV
    • Guy Williams and Titus


    • Ben Maher and Untouched
    • Michael Whitaker and Viking
    • Scott Brash and Hello M’Lady

    You may like...