AP McCoy and Scott Brash miss out on BBC sports personality nominations

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Racing and equestrian fans are surprised after National Hunt jockey AP McCoy and showjumper Scott Brash were not shortlisted for the BBC sports personality of the year award.

    The list of nominations for the award was announced tonight (Monday 30 November) — but the recently retired jockey and world number one showjumper were both notable absentees.

    Despite being in the betting ahead of the announcement neither AP McCoy nor Frankie Dettori are in the running for the award.

    Earlier this year H&H readers campaigned for showjumper Scott Brash to receive a nomination, but he isn’t featured either.

    Many fans on Twitter said that equestrian sport is not receiving the recognition it deserves.

    “Disappointed that Scott Brash wasn’t nominated. What he’s achieved in showjumping this year is incredible,” said Ellen Gibson.

    Lesley Murray tweeted: “No equestrians on the short list for #SPOTY so what Scott Brash and Charlotte Dujardin have done means nothing?? #Disgusting

    Quentin Smith said: “No @AP_McCoy on #SPOTY shortlist? Seriously? With an achievement that will never be bettered? How good do you have to be to merit inclusion?”

    The shortlist includes cyclist Lizzie Armitstead, footballer Lucy Bronze, heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill, athlete Mo Farah, cyclist Chris Froome, boxer Tyson Fury, F1 driver Lewis Hamilton, tennis star Andy Murray, swimmer Adam Peaty, athlete Greg Rutherford, rugby league player Kevin Sinfield and gymnast Max Whitlock.

    The overall winner will be announced live at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2015 awards on 20 December following a public vote.

    AP McCoy bowed out of racing at the 2014-15 National Hunt season finale at Sandown in April after two decades at the top of his game.

    Despite missing out on victory on his final day in the saddle, AP finished third on his last ever ride and retired on a total of 4,348 winners.

    The award ceremony will be held in Belfast for the first time this year.

    In 2010 AP McCoy became the first jockey to win the award — the year in which he won the Grand National on his 15th attempt aboard Don’t Push It.

    He secured more than 40% of the votes ahead of darts player Phil Taylor and heptathlete Jessica Ennis.

    In 2013 he finished third in the SPOTY race, behind tennis star Andy Murray and rugby player Leigh Halfpenny.

    Popular articles

    AP is one of just four equestrians to have won the award — David Broome in 1960, Princess Anne in 1971 and Zara Phillips in 2006.

    Charlotte Dujardin finished fourth last year, despite a huge push by the equestrian industry and an army of dressage fans.

    The 2014 award was won by Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton, with golfer Rory McIlroy in second and athlete Jo Pavey was third.

    Charlotte gained 75,814 votes from the public, 12.2% of the total placed.

    To register to vote click here

    You may like...