Nominate equestrian stars for Sportswomen of the Year Awards

  • Fans have 4 weeks to nominate their favourite female riders for the Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2013.

    The Sunday Times and Sky Sports launched this year’s awards with a nationwide call for public nominations online in each of the 7 categories. The awards, which have been running for 26 years, celebrate the outstanding contribution by female athletes, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational figures.

    Sunday Times sports editor Alex Butler said: “The achievements of British women in sport in 2013 have been phenomenal. Over the coming months — in print in the Sunday Times and on air with Sky Sports — we will celebrate those achievements.”

    Equestrian personalities have been well-represented in past award ceremonies, with event riders Pippa Funnell and Zara Phillips both picking up the ultimate accolade of sportswoman of the year (2003 and 2005). Para-dressage rider Anne Dunham was disabled sportswoman of the year in 2011, while last year Di Redfern won the community award for services to disabled riders and paralysed event rider Claire Lomas won the Helen Rollason inspiration award.

    The online nomination process closes at midnight on Monday 4 November, ahead of the ceremony — which will be broadcast live on Sky for the first time — on Thursday 5 December. Anyone who nominates can choose to enter a prize draw to win a pair of tickets to the ceremony.


    • Sportswoman of the Year
    • Young Sportswoman of the Year (21 or younger on 1 January 2013)
    • Team of the Year
    • Disability Sports Person of the Year
    • Community Award
    • Lifetime Achievement Award
    • The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration

    Place your votes now

    You may like...