Global Champions League teams announced

Scott Brash is to join forces with Kent Farrington – and Ben Maher with Jessica Springsteen – in the Global Champions League (GCL), it has been announced.

The line-ups have been revealed for the new competition, which organisers say “heralds the start of a new era in showjumping”.

John Whitaker, Laura Renwick and Rodrigo Pessoa are also among the riders taking part in the team-based showjumping league, which starts next Sunday (10 April) in Miami.

Each of the 12 multi-national teams has up to five riders, including a maximum of two top 30-ranked athletes, for the 1.50-1.55m GCL competition.

At least one rider must be under 25, as “GCL focuses on developing the young talent of the future”.

Two team members will be selected to compete in each event of the circuit, which follows the calendar of the Longines Global Champions Tour (GCT).

A spokesman for the league said: “The new multi-national squads of riders… will be paired for the first time ever as they depend on each other for sporting glory and a share of the GCL €7.5 million prize money.

“Team selection decisions will be critical as team managers select riders and horses to maximise the best performance and results at each event through the season.”

All teams will take part in the first round of the competition, with their combined scores on penalties and time determining whether they progress. The top eight will go through to the second round.

A prize fund of €200,000 is on offer at each competition, with €60,000 for the winning team, while each squad will also be awarded points. These points will determine the league rankings at the end of the season, for which a €1.5m purse is on offer, with 30% going to the winning team.

Organisers have promised a €7.5m total prize fund for subsequent seasons.

Related articles:

Jan Tops, GCL co-founder and GCT founder and president, said: “This is a key strategic step forward in the evolution of our sport. It will transform the experience for millions of fans around the world as they identify with the ups and downs of their favourite riders and horses.

“We will see some extraordinary battles opening up as the teams go through the GCL season and tactics and selection decisions become ever critical. We are pleased to continue in a pioneering spirit to safeguard the future of show jumping in the modern era and to always ensure top sport and the welfare of the horse.”

H&H has reported that the FEI has clashed with GCL over the league, resulting in a legal battle over the FEI’s “anti-competitive exclusivity clause”.

The teams:

Miami Glory

Scott Brash
Kent Farrington
Georgina Bloomberg
Kimberly Prince
Jessica Mendoza (U25)


Antwerp Diamonds

Harrie Smolders
Audrey Coulter (U25)
Katharina Offel
Marc Houtzager
Jos Verlooy (U25)


Madrid In Motion

Alvaro de Miranda
Athina Onassis de Miranda
Marta Ortega Perez
Pedro Veniss
Gonzalo Anon Suarez (U25)


Shanghai Swans

Edwina Tops-Alexander
Ben Maher
Jessica Springsteen (U25)
Janne Friederike Meyer
Alexandra Thornton (U25)
Cannes Stars

Roger-Yves Bost
Marco Kutscher
Roosje Brouwer
Kevin Jochems (U25)
Monaco Aces

Maikel van der Vleuten
Leopold van Asten
Daniel Bluman
Schuyler Riley
Lisa Nooren (U25)


Paris Jets

Rolf-Göran Bengtsson
Gregory Wathelet
Olivier Philippaerts (U25)
Nicola Philippaerts (U25)
Titouan Schumacher (U25)


Cascais Charms

Quentin Judge
David Will
Pilar Cordon Muro
Andreas Kreuzer
Philip Houston (U25)
Valkenswaard United

Bertram Allen (U25)
John Whitaker
Eduardo Menezes
Alberto Zorzi
Emily Moffitt (U25)
Rome Gladiators

Laura Kraut
Laura Renwick
Marlon Zanotelli
Jack Hardin Towell
Emma Heise (U25)
Vienna Eagles

Lauren Hough
Rodrigo Pessoa
Paris Sellon (U25)
Danielle Goldstein
Emanuel Andrade (U25)
Doha Fursan Qatar

Sheikh Ali Al Thani
Bassem Hassan Mohammed
Ali Al Rumaihi
Faleh Alajami
Hamad Al Attiyah (U25)

For more information, visit the GCL website.


You may like...