Could Frankie Dettori be named Sports Personality of the Year?

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Support is mounting for popular Flat jockey Frankie Dettori to take the BBC Sports Personality of the Year (SPOTY) award.

    According to bookies Betfred, Frankie’s odds have been slashed from 50-1 to 20-1 following his win with Golden Horn in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe at the weekend (4 October).

    William Hill has Frankie at 25-1 down from 100-1.

    Popular articles

    Frankie has been in the running for the award before, finishing third in 1996 — the year he went through the card and won all seven races at Ascot.

    Twenty-time champion National Hunt jockey AP McCoy, who retired in April, is also in the betting at 20-1.

    In 2010 AP became the first jockey to win the award. It was the year in which he won the Grand National on his 15th attempt aboard Don’t Push It.

    Meanwhile, showjumping fans are campaigning for Scott Brash to be named the BBC Sports Personality of the Year (SPOTY) following his historic win in the Rolex Grand Slam this year.

    Scott picked up a €1m (£730,000) bonus earlier this month when he completed the hat-trick of grands prix — Geneva, Aachen and Spruce Meadows.

    And now the equestrian world wants to see him recognised for his endeavours.

    A page has been set up by Amy Dennison from Stafford Barton Stud on Facebook, which has nearly 17,000 likes.

    “I was so sick and tired of other sports receiving all the recognition, and equestrianism isn’t getting what it deserves,” she told H&H.

    “Once we have enough support I will send evidence to the BBC to show how strong the industry is.”

    Last year the equestrian world was disappointed when Charlotte Dujardin narrowly missed out on being voted into the top three — despite a full campaign launched by the British Equestrian Federation.

    The award ceremony, on 20 December, will be held in Belfast for the first time this year, nominations will be announced in November.

    The nominations are selected by national sports editors, which goes to a public vote on the night.

    Current favourite to win is hepthalete Jessica Ennis-Hill, with Andy Murray, Lewis Hamilton and Chris Froome also in the betting.

    Previous equestrian winners in the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards:
    1960 David Broome
    1971 Princess Anne
    2006 Zara Phillips
    2010 AP McCoy

    You may like...