Celebrating the Burghley Horse Trials winners 2000-2023: in pictures

  • Now that the 2023 Defender Burghley Horse Trials is behind us, we take a look back through the H&H picture archives at the winners of the event since the turn of the century.

    Since the late great Anneli Drummond-Hay became the first name on the list of Burghley Horse Trials winners with Merely-A-Monarch, the event has been synonymous with excellence in the sport of eventing. All riders competing at the challenging five-star three-day event dream of lifting the famous Burghley trophy.

    Below is the full list of those who have achieved that ambition, adding their names to the historic plaques on Winners’ Avenue.

    Burghley Horse Trials’ winners

    2023: Mr Oliver Townend (GBR) riding BALLAGHMOR CLASS
    2022: Mrs Piggy March (GBR) riding VANIR KAMIRA
    2021: Event cancelled owing to the coronavirus pandemic
    2020: Event cancelled owing to the coronavirus pandemic
    2019: Mrs Pippa Funnell (GBR) riding MGH GRAFTON STREET
    2018: Mr Tim Price (NZL) riding RINGWOOD SKY BOY
    2017: Mr Oliver Townend (GBR) riding BALLAGHMOR CLASS
    2016: Mr Christopher Burton (AUS) riding NOBILIS 18
    2015: Mr Michael Jung (GER) riding LA BIOSTHETIQUE-SAM FBW
    2014: Mr Andrew Nicholson (NZL) riding AVEBURY
    2013: Mr Andrew Nicholson (NZL) riding AVEBURY
    2012: Mr Andrew Nicholson (NZL) riding AVEBURY
    2011: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR) on PARKLANE HAWK
    2010: Mrs Caroline Powell (NZL) on LENAMORE
    2009: Mr Oliver Townend (GBR) on CAROUSEL QUEST
    2008: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR) on TAMARILLO
    2007: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR) on PARKMORE ED
    2006: Mrs Lucinda Fredericks (AUS) on HEADLEY BRITANNIA
    2005: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR) on BALLINCOOLA
    2004: Mr Andrew Hoy (AUS) on MOON FLEET
    2003: Mrs Pippa Funnell (GBR)on PRIMMORE’S PRIDE
    2002: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR)on HIGHLAND LAD
    2001: Mr Blyth Tait (NZL) on READY TEDDY
    2000: Mr Andrew Nicholson (NZL) on MR SMIFFY
    1999: Mr Mark Todd (NZL) on DIAMOND HALL RED
    1998: Mr Blyth Tait (NZL) on CHESTERFIELD
    1997: Mr Mark Todd (NZL) on BROADCAST NEWS European Open Winner
    1996: Mrs Mary King (GBR) on STAR APPEAL
    1995: Mr Andrew Nicholson (NZL) on BUCKLEY PROVINCE
    1994: Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR) on CHAKA
    1993: Mr Stephen Bradley (USA) on SASSY REASON
    1992: Miss Charlotte Hollingsworth (GBR) on THE COOL CUSTOMER
    1991: Mr Mark Todd (NZL on WELTON GREYLAG
    1990: Mr Mark Todd (NZL) on FACE THE MUSIC
    1989: Mrs Virginia Leng (GBR) on MASTER CRAFTSMAN European Champion
    1988: Mrs Jane Thelwell (GBR) on KING’S JESTER
    1987: Mr Mark Todd (NZL) on WILTON FAIR
    1986: Mrs Virginia Leng (GBR) on MURPHY HIMSELF
    1985: Miss Virginia Holgate (GBR) on PRICELESS European Champion
    1984: Miss Virginia Holgate (GBR) on NIGHT CAP II
    1983: Miss Virginia Holgate (GBR) on PRICELESS
    1982: Mr Richard Walker (GBR) on RYAN’S CROSS
    1981: Miss Lucinda Prior-Palmer (GBR) on BEAGLE BAY
    1980: Mr Richard Walker (GBR) on JOHN OF GAUNT
    1979: Mr Andrew Hoy (AUS) on DAVEY
    1978: Mrs Lorna Clarke (GBR) on GRECO
    1977: Miss Lucinda Prior-Palmer (GBR) on GEORGE European Champion
    1976: Mrs Jane Holderness-Roddam (GBR) on WARRIOR
    1975: Miss Aly Pattinson (GBR) on CARAWICH
    1974: Mr Bruce Davidson (USA) on IRISH CAP World Champion
    1973: Capt Mark Phillips (GBR) on MAID MARION
    1972: Miss Janet Hodgson (GBR) on LARKSPUR
    1971: HRH Princess Anne (GBR) on DOUBLET European Champion
    1970: Miss Judy Bradwell (GBR) on DON CAMILLO
    1969: Miss Gillian Watson (GBR) on SHAITAN
    1968: Miss Sheila Willcox (GBR) on FAIR AND SQUARE
    1967: Miss Lorna Sutherland (GBR) on POPADOM
    1966: Capt Carlos Moratorio (ARG) on CHALAN World Champion
    1965: Capt J.J. Beale (GBR) on VICTORIA BRIDGE
    1964: Mr Richard Meade (GBR) on BARBERRY
    1963: Capt Harry Freeman-Jackson (IRE) on ST FINBARR
    1962: Capt James Templer (GBR) on M’LORD CONNOLLY European Champion
    1961: Miss Anneli Drummond-Hay (GBR) on MERELY-A-MONARCH

    • Scroll down for the picture gallery of winners since the turn of the century