Who’s qualified for the 2012 Paralympic dressage competitions?

  • Seventy-eight riders from 23 nations will take part in the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

    The qualification process, which began in October 2010, finished yesterday, 31 January.

    The top three teams at the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games 2010 – Great Britain, Germany and Denmark – will each be represented by a team of four plus an individual rider.

    Canada will also receive five qualification slots.

    The USA, Netherlands, Brazil, Ireland, Italy, Belgium, South Africa, Mexico, Singapore, Australia and France, which qualified through the ranking list and regional distribution of teams, will be entering teams of four riders.

    It is the first time the Irish have qualified a para-dressage team for the Paralympics.

    Lt Colonel Gerry O’Gorman, chairman of Para Equestrian Ireland said: “I would like to acknowledge the huge work that has gone into this great achievement.”

    And Horse Sport Ireland chairman Joe Walsh also congratulated the team on what he said was “a hugely significant achievement”.

    New Zealand, Norway and Finland will be represented by two individual riders apiece.

    And Bermuda, Argentina, Japan, Hong Kong and Austria have each been allocated one individual slot.

    The three remaining qualification slots will be allocated by invitation by the International Paralympic Committee and the FEI and will be announced on 9 April.

    The competitions for the 11 sets of medals will take place in Greenwich Park, from 30 August to 4 September

    You may like...