Whitaker junior shines at HOYS

  • William Whitaker added to his family’s successful show when he became the new Kitt-Kraiburg Leading Junior Show Jumper of the Year, a title won by his uncle, Michael Whitaker, nearly 30 years ago.

    In a six-pony jump-off, William won on Indien De Here and for good measure filled the runner-up spot with his European Championship team silver medallist Colton Maelstrom.

    This was the final pony class for William, 16. “I’m moving on to horses straight after this show,” he said.

    Billy Twomey won his second class of the show when Intermission galloped to victory in the Speed Horse of the Year, beating Thursday’s winners, Robert Whitaker and Nureev.

    The other international class, the hoys.co.uk two-phase, also completed a double of wins, this time for Geoff Luckett, whose determined round on Di Jay-Ing’s Animation was far too good for his rivals.

    The morning’s Top Tack Grade C title proved a triumph for Geoff Billington, who produced a smooth performance on Cassius Clay to beat one of the pre-class favourites, Laura Renwick, on Limelight de Breve.

    Robert Maguire produced an outstanding performance to clinch the tack365.com Leading Show Jumper of the Year Grand Prix, ahead of Ellen Whitaker and Jean-Marc Nicolas of France.

    Seven riders went clear in the first round, but only Maguire, Whitaker and Nicolas were able to reproduce their faultless performances in the second round against the clock. Jean-Marc Nicolas went for accuracy over speed to produce the first double clear of the class in 44.62sec. Ellen then pulled out an outstanding performance with AK Locarno 62 to shave more than 3sec off the time, but Robert Maguire knew exactly what was required and took the class by just 0.22sec on 41.20sec.

  • For reports on all the action, plus stunning photography for HOYS, don’t miss this Thursday’s H&H (20 October, ’05)
  • You may like...