Renwick claims Foxhunter Championship

  • Laura Renwick and Limelight de Breve were crowned 2006 Horse & Hound Senior Foxhunter Champions at the Horse of the Year Show this evening.

    A line-up of 24 promising young horses qualified for the championships but an up-to-height course caught out the majority of the field, with only Anthony Condon and Jools and Renwick and Limelight de Breve making it through to the second round.

    Renwick and Limelight de Breve, who won last night’s Seven Year Old Championship were first to jump off and produced another quick, polished clear round. Their 39.02 sec time proved unbeatable; Condon and Jools tipped the third fence and the championship was Renwick’s.

    A delighted Renwick told Sky Sports that the win was “a dream come true”.

    “To win this is something I’ve dreamed about doing,” she said. The result marks the pinnacle of Renwick’s three year partnership with Selle Francais mare Limelight de Breve.

    “She’s given me more than any horse,” Renwick told HHO, “We seem to gel – there is nothing we couldn’t do together.”

    Limelight de Breve, according to Renwick, is always the boss. “She’s thoroughly cheeky,” she said. “She lets herself out of her stable.”

    Horse & Hound has been sponsoring the Foxhunter Championship Series for the last 12 years. Almost 2,000 competitors entered the first round of the Foxhunter Championship series this year and last night’s final at HOYS was watched at home by millions of viewers.


    1. Laura Renwick Limelight de Breve
    2. Anthony Condon Jools
    3. Rowan Willis (AUS) Calimero
    4. John Crippen Loughnatousa Raven
    5. Peter Murphy Two Mills Seander
    6. Stuart Harvey Sjarmette
    7. Billy Twomey Senator W
    8. Nicky Jennings Larino 0087
    8. Mary-Jo Crawford Vardiljo VD Bosrand
    10. Nicole Pavitt Maestro de Rend Peine

    You may like...