Former top showjumper Harvey Smith has been honoured for his lifetime achievements and services to the sport at the recent British Showjumping (BS) awards.

The award to the two-time Olympic rider and one of the sport’s greatest characters was one of 11 given out at during the BS awards ball in Birmingham on 6 April.

Around 500 guests attending the event at the Hilton Metropole, which was sponsored by the British Showjumping Business Partnership.

Other winners included:

Jessica Mendoza — Best Pony Rider of the Year
Jemma Kirk — Best Rider under 21 (on horses) of the Year
Geoff Billington — Members’ Personality of the Year
Ben Mayer — Riders’ Rider of the Year
Ben Mayer and Robin — International Horse/Rider Combination of the Year
Helen Tredwell — Area/International Points Winner
Ingliston Country Club — Members’ Show Venue of the Year and Equestrian Centre
Great Yorkshire Show — Members’ County Show of the Year
Old Lodge — Breeders Award
Susie Gibson — British Showjumping Coach of the Year.