Sefton safety awards announced

  • Three BHS volunteers have been awarded the Sefton Award for Safety in recognition of their safety work

    The British Horse Society (BHS) recognised the long-standing safety work of three individuals when it awarded them its prestigious “Sefton Awards for Safety” last week.

    Jenny Cockitt from Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Jane Goodwin from Penrith, Cumbria, and James Parker from Woking, Surrey each received theengraved glass paperweight at Saddlers Hall, London on 15 November.

    Jenny has been involved with riding and road safety for many years and is presently the riding and road safety representative on the Welsh national BHS committee. She has significantly raised the profile of safety in Wales since moving to Abergavenny from Essex.

    A BHS member for more than 40 years, Jane has been actively involved with road safety since the BHS first tackled the issue. She has recently retired from both the Cumbria committee and from the national regional riding and road safety representatives committee.

    James represented the Local Authority Road Safety Officers Association and the Association of London Borough Road Safety Officers on the BHS riding and road safety advisory committee for more than 10 years. He played a major role in getting horses included in the Highway Code, ensuring that new drivers learn how to react to horses on the roads.

    Shiela Hardy, BHS head of safety said: “Without the volunteer network the BHS Safety department couldn’t function efficiently. All our volunteers are dedicated people who work tirelessly for what they believe in. These awards are just a small thank you for all they do.”

    The awards are named after the cavalry horse injured in the IRA bomb attack. Now in their 11th year, the awards are presented annually to individuals who have helped the cause of equestrian safety.

    You may like...