Scott Brash ‘not frustrated’ by lack of BBC sports personality recognition

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • World number one showjumper Scott Brash has said he is “not frustrated” about missing out on the chance to be named BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

    “I’m not frustrated about not being nominated. I focus on my job and it’s up to people outside of the sport to take notice,” he told H&H today (Tuesday 1 December).

    No equestrians or jockeys at all made the line up.

    “It’s a shame Charlotte Dujardin didn’t get into the top three last year [she finished fourth],” added Scott, “As a world record holder and winner of every major dressage competition going there is nothing else she could have done, yet it still wasn’t enough for a top three at SPOTY.”

    The list of nominations for the award was announced last night (Monday 30 November) — but the recently retired AP McCoy and world number one showjumper were both notable absentees.

    The lack of nomination surprised H&H readers. They also lamented the absence of jockey AP McCoy.

    H&H Facebook fans said that equestrian sport is not receiving the recognition it deserves.

    “It’s outrageous that equestrian sports and the acheivements of the riders are so poorly recognised in this country. Scott Brash has achieved more than anyone in his sport, at his level, in the world (not just the UK). When will this ever change?” questioned Tracey Stern.

    Giselle Robinson added: “What a ridiculous thing. AP and Scott have achieved so much, sports personality is a bit of a joke.”

    Sophie Pentecost said it was a “crying shame”.

    “AP has had a wonderful career and Scott is right at the top of his game,” she added.

    Despite being in the betting ahead of the announcement, Derby-winning jockey Frankie Dettori isn’t the running for the award either.

    Earlier this year H&H readers campaigned for showjumper Scott Brash to receive a nomination after a phenomenal year that included him making history by winning the Rolex Grand Slam.

    Popular articles

    The 2015 BBC Sports Personality of the Year shortlist includes cyclist Lizzie Armitstead, footballer Lucy Bronze, heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill, athlete Mo Farah, cyclist Chris Froome, boxer Tyson Fury, F1 driver Lewis Hamilton, tennis star Andy Murray, swimmer Adam Peaty, athlete Greg Rutherford, rugby league player Kevin Sinfield and gymnast Max Whitlock.

    The overall winner will be announced live at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2015 awards on 20 December following a public vote.

    The award ceremony will be held in Belfast for the first time this year.

    In 2010 AP McCoy became the first jockey to win the award — the year in which he won the Grand National on his 15th attempt aboard Don’t Push It.

    In 2013 he finished third in the SPOTY race.

    AP is one of just four equestrians to have won the award — David Broome in 1960, Princess Anne in 1971 and Zara Phillips in 2006.

    Charlotte Dujardin finished fourth last year, despite a huge push by the equestrian industry and an army of dressage fans.

    You may like...