Help name the horse world’s stars

  • Horse & Hound readers are being asked to nominate companies and individuals for two special awards — the Special Award and the Voluntary Services Award, two of the Animal Health Trust Equestrian Awards.

    This annual ceremony is both a big fund raiser for the Animal Health Trust and a glittering landmark on the equestrian’s social calendar, celebrating the whole spectrum of the horse industry: from show jumping to racing to veterinary science to charity. It takes place on 2 November at London’s Royal Lancaster Hotel.

    Nominations for the Special Award should be organisations, companies or individuals who have made a major contribution to equestrian sport. In the past it has been given to the British Paralympic team, jockey A P McCoy and London 2012 bid leader Lord Sebastian Coe.

    The Voluntary Services Award recognises people and organisations who have made a difference to the equine industry through their volunteer work. Past recipients of this award range from the Mark Davies Injured Riders Fund to commentator Mike Tucker to Johanna Bardon of the National Foaling Bank.

    “This is one of our flagship events and plays a very important role in our relationship with the entire equine industry,” said Lord Kirkham, chairman of the AHT executive committee.

    To register your nomination, email hheditor@ipcmedia.com with the name of the award in the subject line (AHT Special Award or AHT Voluntary Services Award) and the name of the individual or company you are nominating in the email body. For more information about the awards visit: www.equestrianawards.info

    Former AHT award winners

    Veterinary Achievement Award
    1989 Dr WR (Twink) Allen
    1990 Professor David Onions
    1991 Professor Walter Plowright
    1992 Dr Peter Rossdale
    1993 Dr Jenny Mumford
    1994 Professor Leo Jeffcott
    1995 Professor Peter Lees
    1996 Professor Barrie Edwards
    1997 Dr Polly Taylor
    1998 Dr Paddy Dixon
    1999 Dr Tim Mair
    2000 Mr John Walmsley
    2001 Professor Allen Goodship
    2002 Mr Derek Knottenbelt
    2003 Geoff Lane
    2004 Bruce McGorum
    2005 Lord Soulsby

    Voluntary Service Award
    1989 The Fortune Centre
    1990 The International League for the Protection of Horses
    1991 Marjorie Langford
    1992 Sister Mary Joy
    1993 The Worshipful Company of Saddlers
    1994 The Brooke Hospital for Animals
    1995 Riding for the Disabled
    1996 Rosemary Barlow
    1997 The Home of Rest for Horses
    1998 Bernard Donigan
    1999 Johanna Vardon
    2000 Mike Tucker
    2001 Michael Clayton
    2002 St John’s Ambulance
    2003 Carrie Humble
    2004 SPANA
    2005 Mark Davies Injured Riders Fund

    Animal Health Trust Special Award
    1989 Major WR Hern
    1990 British Endurance Team
    1991 HRH The Duke of Edinburgh
    1992 Raymond Brookes-Ward
    1993 Sir Harry Llewellyn Bt
    1994 Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum
    1995 Lt Col Bill Lithgow
    1996 British Paralympic Team
    1997 HM Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother
    1998 Dick Saunders
    1999 Jenny Pitman
    2000 Jennie Loriston-Clarke
    2001 Aidan O’Brien
    2002 A P McCoy
    2003 British Dressage Team
    2004 Junior
    2005 Lord Sebastian Coe

    Equestrian Personality of the Year
    1989 Peter Scudamore
    1990 John Whitaker
    1991 Mary Thompson
    1992 Pippa Nolan
    1993 Emile Faurie
    1994 Karen Dixon
    1995 Richard Dunwoody
    1996 Geoff Billington
    1997 William Fox-Pitt
    1998 Chris Bartle
    1999 Ian Stark
    2000 Vere Phillips (on Coral Cove)
    2001 John Whitaker

    Sporting Award
    1989 Nick Skelton
    1990 Marcus Armytage
    1991 Michael Whitaker
    1992 George Bowman
    1993 Ginny Elliot
    1994 Willie Carson
    1995 Kristina Gifford
    1996 Walter Swinburn
    1997 Frankie Dettori
    1998 Howard Hipwood
    1999 Richard Dunwoody
    2000 The British Eventing Team with Yogi Breisner
    2001 Lee Pearson

    Top Horse Award
    1989 Desert Orchid
    1990 Milton
    1991 Generous
    1992 Murphy Himself
    1993 Jodami
    1994 Get Smart
    1995 Chaka
    1996 It’s Otto
    1997 Virtual Village Welham
    1998 Double Trigger
    1999 Abbervail Dream
    2000 Dubai Millennium
    2001 Galileo

    Racing Award
    2000 David Nicholson
    2001 Dr Peter Webbon
    2002 Rock of Gibraltar
    2003 Persian Punch
    2004 Attraction
    2005 David ‘Dandy’ Nicholls

    Sport Horse Breeding Award
    2001 Clive Halsall

    Eventing Award
    2002 Jeanette Brakewell (Over to You)
    2003 Pippa Funnell
    2004 Leslie Law
    2005 Zara Phillips

    Dressage Award
    2002 Desi Dillingham
    2003 Nicola Tustain
    2004 Carl Hester
    2005 Laura Bechtolsheimer

    Show Jumping Award
    2002 Colton Maelstrom
    2003 Di Lampard
    2004 Robert Smith
    2005 Ben Maher

    Showing Award
    2002 Out of Sight (Sarah Gallagher)
    2003 Louise Bell
    2004 Beamish III
    2005 Lynn Russell and Draco

    You may like...