Devon and Somerset Pony Club branch win the Prince Philip Cup

  • Members of the Devon and Somerset branch of the Pony Club celebrated at the weekend after winning the final of the Prince Philip Cup at the Horse of the Year Show (HOYS).

    The winning mounted games team was made up of Scarlett Cooksley, Rory Capel, Zoey Cape, Tom McCanlis, Matthew Seabourne and reserve Anna Weatherlake.

    Six Pony Club branch teams — the Badsworth Hunt, Berwyn and Dee, Devon and Somerset, Oakley Hunt (West), Orkney and Rockwood Harriers all went forward to the final at HOYS after battling it out at the Zone Finals around the country during the summer.

    Devon and Somerset finished third last year but it was a first win for the branch.

    And in the end there was just one point in it, with Devon and Somerset finishing on 104 points and beating 2008 winners Oakley Hunt (West) on 103 points.

    “We are in utter shock” said Devon and Somerset team trainer Bella Capel.

    “It’s been a fantastic week, all of the teams have ridden so well. It was a real battle right until the end”.

    You may like...