Ireland releases eventing team short-list

  • Eventing Ireland has released a short-list of riders for the European Eventing Championships at Pratoni del Vivaro (13-16 September).

    The short-listed combinations are:

    • Sally Corscadden and Millridge Kalmar
    • Geoff Curran and Balladeer Alfred
    • Jonty Evans and Cregwarrior (pictured below)
    • Louise Lyons and Watership Down
    • Joseph Murphy and Master Boy
    • Austin O’Connor and Hobby De Mee
    • Michael Ryan and Old Road
    • Susan Shortt and Stoneybrook
    • Steven Smith and Quality VH

    Several of these riders were at Barbury Castle on the weekend, where Sally Corscadden was the best-placed, finishing 18th.

    The short-listed pairs now go to either Hartpury (9-12 August) or Thirlestane (18-19 August), after which the final selections will be confirmed.

    Jonty Evans riding Cregwarrior
    Short-listed combination Jonty Evans and Cregwarrior at Badminton this year

    “The benefits of having a dedicated performance management structure are becoming more evident every day,” said Eventing Ireland chairman Neil Morris.

    “The structure that Lars [Christensson, performance manager] has brought to the high performance arena, particularly with the involvement of Sandy Phillips in dressage training, has definitely started us on the right road. Although there is still obviously scope for improvement, I think that everyone would agree that there has certainly been progress made.”

    Mr Morris also announced that up-and-coming Irish rider Elizabeth Power, 22, is going to base herself in Gloucestershire with Sandy Phillips. Elizabeth was second at Tatteralls CCI** and 35th at Barbury with Kilpatrick River.

    Visit Eventing Ireland’s website: www.eventingireland.com

    You may like...