British Eventing salutes Fox-Pitt

  • William Fox-Pitt tops successful season by winning the Tony Collins Memorial Trophy at British Eventing’s annual awards

    British Eventing’s annual awards were announced during its inaugural Britannia Ball at Chesford Grange Hotel on 26 October

    William Fox-Pitt’s successful return to the top of the British eventing tree saw him awarded the Tony Collins Memorial Trophy for the British rider gaining the highest numberof points during the 2001 season at the recent British Eventing Britannia Ball. William enjoyed top 10 placings on no less than 60 occasions during 2001, amassing 940 points during a season which was substantially affected by FMD.

    William’s success with Stunning, a former ride of Mark Todd, saw George and Jane Apter, Studio TV Hire and Hackett, awarded the Calcutta Light Horse Trophy – for the owner of the British horse gaining the highest number of points. Stunning’s 2001 successes included fourth position at Saumur CCI*** and runner-up spot at Thirlestane Castle CIC*** as well as team gold and individual sixth at the European Championships in Pau, France.

    The Wide Awake Trophy for the breeder of the British-bred, owned and ridden horse gaining the highest number of points, went to Susan Bunn, the owner and breeder of Viceroy II. Ridden by Pippa Funnell, this ten-year-old bay stallion made his four-star debut at Burghley this year and won a total of 147 points during the season.

    Other BE award winners

    MARTIN WHITELEY TROPHY, for the British rider gaining the most points on one horse who has never been entitled to wear a Union Jack Badge and who has not previously won this Trophy.
    Awarded to: Kathryn Harris

    EDY GOLDMAN TROPHY, for the British Rider gaining the most points who is under 21 in the current year.
    Awarded to: Oliver Townend (18)

    SIR JOHN BURDER TROPHY, for the highest placed British competitor in the 2001 Young RiderEuropean Championships.
    Awarded to: Piggy French (21)

    HUBERT ALLFREY TROPHY: To the highest placed British competitor in the 2001 Junior European Championships.
    Awarded to: Amelia Harris (18)

    JANE ROOK TROPHY: To the highest placedBritish competitor in the 2001 Pony European Championships.
    Awarded to: Holly Lemke (16)

    THE HORSE TRIALS SUPPORT GROUP 2001 SCHOLARSHIP, to encourage a rider who has shown particular promise, was awarded to Chris King.

    HORSE TRIALS AWARDS, presented for outstanding leadership, dedication and support to the sport, were given this year to:
    Ted Bonnor-Maurice, David and Jane Carter, Muriel Colquhoun, Peter Donnelly, Dick and Frances Kinsey, George and June Neil, Les Smith, Stan Sutherland, Guy Wathen, Bill and Val Weightman, Malcolm Wharton and John Williams.

    HONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIP was awarded to Jamie Mackie.

    You may like...