SEIB Horse of the Decade (2011-2020)

The 2020 Horse & Hound Awards, in partnership with NAF, will be an exciting multi-media online bonanza this year, with equestrian fans from around the world invited to join in the fun

  • This award is to celebrate the equine heroes of the 
past decade (2011–2020), the horses who have been at the top 
of their game and a pure joy to watch

    The shortlist has been chosen and voting for this award is open for one week only, until 11.59pm on 5 November, in accordance with these terms and conditions.

    Big Star

    17-year-old bay stallion

    Quick Star x Nimmerdor

    Rider: Nick Skelton

    Owners: Gary and Beverley Widdowson

    Breeder: Cees Klaver

    This charismatic megastar, Nick’s “horse of a lifetime”, was a winning machine until his retirement in 2017. He amassed global grand prix victories, but his crowning glory was a brace of Olympic gold medals: at London 2012 he led the British team to victory, while at Rio 2016 he claimed individual honours. He really was the best in the world.

    Chilli Morning

    Died as a 20-year-old in 2020, chestnut stallion

    Phantomic x Kolibre

    Rider: William Fox-Pitt

    Owners: Chris and Lisa Stone

    Breeder: Rainer Schicketanz

    A brilliant championship campaigner for Britain this decade with two individual bronzes and a team silver. He also became the only stallion ever to triumph at Badminton with his 2015 victory. Taking Chilli to the Rio Olympics was a major motivator in William’s comeback from his serious head injury; they finished best of the Brits.


    18-year-old dark bay gelding

    Negro x Gershwin

    Rider: Charlotte Dujardin

    Owners: Carl Hester, Roly Luard and Anne Barrott

    Breeders: Maartje and Joop Hanse

    Valegro is the greatest dressage horse of all time. He took individual and team gold at the 2012 Olympics and individual gold in 2016. At Olympia 2014, he beat his own world record to achieve the highest-ever recorded grand prix freestyle dressage score of 94.3%.

    La Biosthetique Sam FBW

    20-year-old bay gelding

    Stan The Man x Heraldik

    Rider: Michael Jung

    Owners: Jung Family, Erich Single, Joachim Jung and DOKR (German Olympic equestrian committee)

    Breeder: Günter Seitter

    A dazzling star – winner of back-to-back individual Olympic golds, European and world individual gold and four other championship medals, plus his victories at Badminton and Burghley helped Michael secure the Rolex Grand Slam in 2016.

    Place your votes now

    Previous winners of this award include:

    • 2019: Vanir Kamira, “ a pain in the arse 352 days a year” this true five-star horse “comes into her own at Badminton and Burghley”, ridden by Piggy French
    • 2018: Arctic Soul, the former racehorse turned elite eventer, ridden by Gemma Tattersalls
    • 2017: Nip Tuck, Carl Hester’s outstanding equine partner
    • 2016: Valegro, the elite dressage star and world record breaker, ridden by Charlotte Dujardin

    About the Horse & Hound Awards 2020

    The H&H Awards, in partnership with NAF, are back – this year’s ceremony will be virtual, an exciting multi-media online bonanza. This innovation means equestrian fans around the world can be part of the celebration. We look forward to sharing the evening with you all.

    This year’s awards will celebrate the heroes of the past decade (2011–2020) in elite equestrian sport, while honouring the unsung stars who have helped our industry, our horses and our spirits during this unusual year.

    As previously, the H&H Award winners will be nominated and voted for by you. Anyone is welcome to nominate the person, group or horse they feel deserves recognition from Thursday 3 September.

    Following the close of nominations at 5pm on 4 October, the H&H judging panel will decide on a shortlist of contenders. The panel will be influenced by the number of nominations and strength of the story of the nominee’s dedication and achievement.

    On 29 October, we will announce the shortlisted candidates in the magazine and online, sharing their stories and inviting you to vote for your winners online, with voting closing on 5 November.

    The winners will be revealed in our sparkling online virtual ceremony on 10 December, with guests joining us from around the world.

    You may like...