Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum is show jumping champion

  • Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (pictured) and the brilliantly athletic Shutterfly have become Germany’s 13th European Champions after jumping five faultless rounds throughout the whole competition.

    The World Champions Jos Lansink and Al-Kaheel Cavalor Cumano, who beat Meredith into third at last year’s World Games, also performed five clear rounds to take the silver, their slower time in the opening speed class eventually counting against them.

    Ludger Beerbaum and Goldfever, the 2003 silver medallists, clawed back from a fence down in the first round of the individual contest to take bronze.

    The British challenge fell away with unfortunate rounds for David McPherson and Ellen Whitaker, who both fell foul of a difficult five holding stride distance from the water to an upright and both stopped at the subsequent double.

    John Whitaker produced another briliant clear on Peppermill and faulted just once in the final round to climb from 13th to fifth.

    The overnight leaders, Christine Liebherr and LB No Mercy, retired after crashing through the influential treble in the final round.

    1, Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (Shutterfly, GER) 1.54pen
    2, Jos Lansink (Al-Kaheel Cavalor Cumano, BEL) 2.42
    3, Ludger Beerbaum (Goldfever, GER) 5.11
    4, Albert Zoer (Okidoki, NED) 7.08
    5, John Whitaker (Peppermill, GBR) 9.98pen
    6, Jeroen Dubbeldam (BMC Up And Down, NED), 10.24
    7, Olivier Guillon (Ionesco de Brekka, FRA) 10.50
    8, Christian Ahlmann (Coster, GER), 10.53
    9, Florian Angot (First de Launay* HN, FRA) 10.76
    10, Morten Djupvik (Bessemeinds Casino, NOR), 11.55

    Other GBR: 14, David McPherson (Pilgrim ll) 23.05
    23, Ellen Whitaker (Locarno), 24.49
    Full results on: www.em2007.de

    You may like...