New Zealand announce WEG eventing squad

  • Eventing New Zealand has released a short list for the team that will compete at the World Equestrian Games (WEG) at Aachen, Germany (August 20 – September 3).

    The six strong list includes UK based riders Daniel Jocelyn, Joe Meyer, Andrew Nicholson (pictured) and Caroline Powell. New Zealand based Alex de Luca Oliveira and Heelan Tompkins have also been selected.

    Jocelyn, Nicholson and Tompkins are all seasoned international riders and were members of the New Zealand Olympic team that finished fifth at Athens in 2004.

    The six riders will now commence a focussed training schedule in preparation for WEG, but chairman of selectors Mary Darby is keen to point out that the door is not completely closed for others.

    Britain’s WEG team will be announced shortly after Badminton. Four team members along with two individuals will be selected from the 12-strong World Class Performance squad, currently partaking in winter training. Chairman of selectors Lucinda Green will be making the final decision with help from Bridget Parker, Mandy Stibbe and Ian Stark.

    You may like...