Leslie Law crowned British number one

  • Leslie Law, Olympic silver medallist on his first British team appearance, became the British number one rider of 2000 when leading the points table for the season.

    At the annual conference of the British Horse Trials Association at Stoneleigh, Leslie took the Tony Collings Memorial Trophy for amassing 957 points on 13 horses at home and abroad.

    Of these, 316 points were won by his Sydney ride, Shear H20, who took the Calcutta Light Horse Trophy, awarded to the British horse winning most points, for owner Jeremy Lawton of Shearwater Insurance.

    Another rider-horse double was achieved by the lesser known combination of Ian Wills and Robert Lumb’s Pembridge Minstrel.

    Ian, never out of the top six all season, won the Martin Whiteley Trophy for the rider not entitled to wear the Union Jack who has won most points this season (202).

    His ride, Pembridge Minstrel, a part-bred Cleveland Bay, won the Wide Awake Trophy for best British-bred horse for breeder Kate Telford of Pembridge Performance Horses.

    Other trophies went to the best British riders in the youth European three-day event championships – Isla Johnson-Wells (Sir John Burder Trophy, under 21), Kitty Boggis (Hubert Allfrey, under 18) and Olivia Hadow (Jane Rook, ponies).

    The Edy Goldman Trophy to the under 21 rider gaining most points during the hear went to Jennifer Tett, another member of the bronze medal winning team at the Young Riders European Championship.

    The Horse Trials Support Group’s 2000 scholarship- a £3,000 training grant – went to Sacha Pemble, a rider recently out of young rider ranks.

    You may like...