Britain’s pony eventing squad for Europeans announced

  • British Eventing’s pony selection committee has announced the squad of six riders and three reserves for the 2011 Pony European Championships at Jazkowo, Poland (28-31 July).

    Sophie Beaty (Dun And Dusted IV or The Little Big Man), Janou Bleekman (Cregann Scenic), Sam Ecroyd (Catherston Nutsafe or Three Wells Breeze), Pumba Goess-Saurau (Killacoran Blue), Madeleine Taylor (Bandalera) and Grace Walker (Noble Springbok) have been chosen to travel to Poland, with recent Charles Owen British Pony Champion Victoria Smith (Chit Chat III), Louisa Nesbitt (Carrowmore Gemstone) and Anna Wilks (Monbeg Hero) as non-travelling reserves.

    The squad will now have a final run at Barbury Castle (8-10 July) in the open novice before heading to the championships.

    Chairman of pony selectors Sarah Hancox said: “We have a great mix of children that have been before, plus new combinations. We are feeling very optimistic going to Poland.”

    You may like...