Australia names dressage team for World Equestrian Games

  • The Australian dressage selectors have named the team to compete at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in Kentucky.

    The selected athletes are:

    • Hayley Beresford and Relampago do Retiro
    • Lyndal Oatley and Potifar
    • Brett Parbery and Victory Salute
    • Rachael Sanna and Jaybee Alabaster

    Hayley Beresford, 32, lives in Switzerland and trains with Isabell Werth. Hayley represented Australia at the 2008 Olympic Games with her Brazilian-bred horse Relampago do Retiro.

    Lyndal Oatley, 30, is based in Germany and is cousin to former team member Kristy Oatley. Strong results in Aachen, Hagen, and Cappeln saw Potifar and Lyndal claim their first team place.

    Current Australian Dressage Champions Brett Parbery and Victory Salute have a long list of major achievements including being the Australian record holders for the highest grand prix and grand prix freestyle score. This year Brett was been placed 10th in the World Cup Final, 10th in the Aachen grand prix and kur and 2nd in the 2010 Hickstead World Dressage Masters CDI 5* grand prix special.

    Rachael Sanna is the most experienced international rider on the team. Rachael has represented Australia at the 1999 World Cup Final, 2000 Sydney Olympic Games, 2002 World Equestrian Games, Jerez, Spain and 2006 World Equestrian Games in Aachen, Germany.

    You may like...