Transport special: obtaining an LGV licence

  • View horsesboxes for sale

    View horsebox manufacturers

    There are five stages to obtaining your LGV (Large Goods Vehicle) category C licence:

    1. Medical: Attend a medical examination and obtain a signed DVLA D4 medical report
    2. Provisional licence: Apply for your provisional licence using the DVLA D2 form, enclosing both the medical examination report and your car driving licence
    3. Theory tests: Take the 100-question multiple-choice test and hazard perception test. Home study books are available from the Driving Standards Agency bookshop (www.tsoshop.co.uk)
    4. Practical training: Attend a driving assessment at a training centre, before undergoing practical training — typically lasting five days
    5. Practical driving test: The 90-minute practical test starts at the test centre with a simple reverse exercise. Candidates must then complete a circuit on the public highway

    NB. For candidates who passed their Category B (car) driving test after January 1997, additional tests may apply. Contact your training centre for further information on the driver CPC initial qualification

    Find out how Paul Tapner found the process of becoming compliant with the latest transportation legislation in our special transport feature in Horse & Hound (28 July, 2011)

    View horsesboxes for sale

    View horsebox manufacturers

    You may like...