Young hopefuls head for HOYS

  • Young talent could throw a spanner in the works at the 2006 Horse of the Year Show. The BSJA has invited Britain’s leading lady rider, 20-year-old Ellen Whitaker, 17-year-old 2006 Junior European Champion William Whitaker, and 2006 Young Rider Champion Gemma Paternoster, 20, to compete in the international classes at the Birmingham NEC (4 October – 8 October). The young triumvirate will join a line up of top British and international names at the show, which culminates in the £22,500 Tack365.com Leading Show Jumper of the Year Grand Prix.

    Robert Bevis and Helen Tredwell scored the last remaining HOYS wild cards at Unex Towerlands last weekend, making up the 16-strong British contingent. The pair will join Geoff Luckett and Robert Maguire – who also hold wild cards – and Britain’s top 10 show jumpers at the Birmingham-based event.

    In addition to the Leading Show Jumper of the Year, for the first time in the show’s history, riders will be able to claim ranking points in other international classes. Thursday’s easibed Stakes, Friday’s Torne Valley Classic and Saturday’s Accumulator will all be offering the coveted points.

    The organisers are advising visitors to book their tickets as soon as possible, as several performances have already completely sold out. Box Office: 08700 10 10 52
    Show Information and online booking: www.hoys.co.uk.

    British Riders

    Nick Skelton
    Michael Whitaker
    John Whitaker
    Robert Smith
    Robert Whitaker
    Ben Meher
    William Funnell
    Tim Stockdale
    Tim Gredley
    Ellen Whitaker
    William Whitaker
    Gemma Paternoster
    Geoff Luckett
    Robert Maguire
    Robert Bevis
    Helen Tredwell

    International Riders

    Laura Kraut (USA)
    Eric Van der Vleuten (NED)
    Leon Thijssen (NED)
    Leopold van Asten (NED)
    Cian O’Connor (IRL)
    Billy Twomey (IRL)
    Daniel Deusser (GER)
    Julien Epaillard (FRA)
    Sergio Alvarez Moya (ESP)
    Abdel Said (EGY)
    Dirk Demeersman (BEL)
    Kristof Cleeren (BEL)
    James Paterson Robinson (AUS)
    Sebastian Pellon Maison (ARG)

    You may like...