Whitaker in World Cup SJ final

  • Michael Whitaker is the only British rider to have qualified for the 2004 FEI World Cup show jumping final, which is being held in Milan, Italy later this month.

    Michael will be riding Handel II, Portofino 63 and First Samuel in the three-leg competition on Thursday 22, Friday 23 and Sunday 25 April for the prestigious indoor world title.

    Robert Smith and Richard Davenport had hoped to join Michael in Milan, but unfortunately a last-ditch attempt to qualify at Gothenburg at the weekend didn’t come off.

    The current British number one will be aiming to match the performance of his brother John, who took the World Cup title in 1990 and 1991 with his infamous partner Milton. To achieve this impressive feat Michael will have to beat the current titleholder, Marcus Ehning, as well as top show jumpers from 12 leagues around the world.

    The 47-strong international field includes 20 riders from the highly competitive Western European league, which was won by Germany’s Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, ahead of the Brazilian former World Champion Rodrigo Pessoa.

    Former world number one rider Markus Fuchs has been awarded a wild card entry to the event after a thigh muscle injury sidelined him from competitions for five weeks during the qualification period.

    The complete list of riders who have qualified for the event are:

    Title holder

    • Marcus Ehning GER

    Western European league

    • Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum GER
    • Ludo Philippaerts BEL
    • Otto Becker GER
    • Rolf-Göran Bengtsson SWE
    • Malin Baryard SWE
    • Marco Kutscher GER
    • Thomas Velin DEN
    • Jos Lansink BEL
    • Bruno Broucqsault FRA
    • Helena Weinberg GER
    • Eric van der Vleuten NED
    • Toni Hassmann GER
    • Michael Whitaker GBR
    • Christophe Barbeau SUI
    • Wim Schroeder NED
    • Hubert Bourdy FRA
    • Jeroen Dubbeldam NED
    • Eugénie Angot FRA
    • Rodrigo Pessoa BRA
    • Peter Wylde USA

    Central European League

    • Gunnar Klettenberg EST
    • Sencer Can TUR
    • Grzegorz Kubiak POL

    USA East Coast League

    • Molly Ashe USA
    • McLain Ward USA
    • Laura Linback USA
    • Beezie Madden-Patton USA
    • Margie Goldstein-Engle USA
    • Chris Kappler USA
    • Norman Dello Joio USA

    USA West Coast League

    • Richard Spooner USA
    • Nicole Simpson USA
    • John French USA

    Canadian League

    • Ainsley Vince CAN
    • Ian Millar CAN
    • Yann Candele FRA

    South American League

    • Marcelo Lemes de Souza BRA
    • Lionel Collard-Bovy ARG

    South African League

    • Dominey Alexander RSA

    Central Asian League

    • Alexander Tishkov KAZ

    South East Asian League

    • Qabil Ambak MAS

    Japan League

    • Takamichi Mashiyama JPN

    Australian League

    • Chris Chugg AUS
    • Tim Amitrano AUS

    New Zealand League

    • Sally Steiner NZL

    Extra riders from organising federation

    • Juan Carlos Garcia ITA
    • Jerry Smit ITA

    For more details visit the World Cup Final website: www.worldcupmilano2004.com

    You may like...