Riders selected to jump for national pride

  • The easibed British Home International Challenge, in which teams made up of a combination of up-and-coming and established show jumpers represent their home country of England, Ireland, Scotland or Wales, takes place at next month’s British Open Show Jumping Championships (7 – 10 April) in Sheffield.

    This class involves four teams of four riders, each representing their country of birth. The challenge runs over two days with the first round on Saturday morning and the final on Sunday. Both England and Scotland have previously won this competition, so the Irish and Welsh teams will be looking to chalk up their first triumph.

    The riders jumping for national pride this year are:


    • Keith Shore (Captain)
    • Ben Maher
    • David McPherson
    • Sophie Tobin


    • Keith Doyle (Captain)
    • Edna Carroll
    • Tom Davin
    • Anthony Condon


    • Andrew Hamilton (Captain)
    • Derek Morton
    • Douglas Duffin
    • Laura Hutt


    • Andrew Davies (Captain)
    • Lee Williams
    • Eurig Eynon
    • Matthew Broome

    In addition to the easibed British Home International Challenge, spectators visiting the British Open Show Jumping Championships can look forward to watching international show jumping classes featuring some of the very best riders from Britain and abroad, as well as outstanding entertainment from professional stunt rider Daniel Naprous and his team, arena polo, The Pony Club’s “Military in Miniature” musical ride and equestrian vaulting.

    For further details and ticket information visit: www.britishopenshowjumping.com

    You may like...