Juniors head for HOYS

Show jumping’s younger generation return to Wembley after a four-year break

For children who ride, most dream of riding at the Horse of the Year Show. For 40 pony riders that dream is about to come true.

Forty junior show jumpers will be competing for the 128cm and Babes Horses 138cm Championships during the matinee performance at the Horse of the Year Show on Tuesday 2 October.

This year sees the pony show jumpers return to Wembley for the first time since the championships were dropped in 1997.

The two classes are open to a maximum of 20 ponies. Each rider, aged 14 years and under for 138cm class and aged 12 and under for 128cm, is allowed to ride only two ponies.

The riders, qualified for the show via a summer points league which ran from 7 April and finished on 26 August. Fifty points were awarded to first place, 40 for second, 30 for third, 20 for fourth and 10 for fifth. All double clears in a championship qualifier also got 10 points.

Those who have qualified are:

128 Championships

    Jodie Ward riding Duncrynes Jungle Bunny
    Grant Talbot riding Major Sharpe and Here Comes Hettie
    James Reveley riding Stainsby Starburst and Cappagh Misty
    Louise Saywell riding J’s Junior and Just Queenie
    Grace Horsley riding Metric
    Coral Mowbray riding Corralass
    Emily Davies riding My Little Pumpkin
    Holly Haig riding Midnight Dynamite
    Laura Mantel riding Pepsi Girl
    Joseph Harland riding Ultimate Challenge
    Harry Skelton riding Welsh Wonder and Fontmell Rasputin
    William Griffiths riding Miss Nancy
    Danika Plumley riding My Little Tinker
    Olivia Hilliard riding Magic Shadow
    Jordan Whittaker riding Proud Flyer
    Mathew Sampson riding Shreddar

138 Championships

    Rachel Cottam riding Lakeland Little Cracker
    Paige Neill riding Fieldens Tamerind
    Jemma Kirk riding Guinness Special
    William Whitaker riding Mystic Starlite Express
    Georgina Spence riding Dreamtime Outlaw
    Lucy Bunn riding Malt Street Special
    Hannah Arnold riding Little Bobby
    Philippa Dobby riding Strawberry Fair II
    Paul Sims riding Will Road Rusty and Blonde Bombshell
    Charlotte Saunders riding Campus
    Danielle Jolliffe riding Miss Moon
    Oliver Loader riding Lion King
    Laura Hutt riding Bowes Charlie Brown
    Lauren Fitch riding Beechway Delight
    Louise Stonestreet riding Broomells King
    Emma Moore riding Renegade Master
    David Harland riding Grey Guy
    Tiffany Wratten riding Magical Miss
    Hannah Arnold riding Ashbrook Lad

This year’s Horse of the Year show is running from 2 October to 7 October, tickets are available now from the box office, adult tickets start at £17.50 and children from £12.50. Contact the 24hr booking line (tel: 0870 121 0125) or the box office (tel: 0870 121 0125). For more information visit their website at www.hoys.co.uk

You may like...