How the showjumpers shaped up in Spain

  • Honours in the grands prix at the second jumping show on the current Spanish Sunshine Tour were well-shared.

    Germany headed the major competition when Hauke Luther, who had already enjoyed a successful show, came out best on Caresino in a 25-horse jump-off, beating off the challenge from Spains Alfredo Duran (Major Bubbles) and Swedish star Rolf-Goran Bengtsson (Pialotta) by more than 1sec.

    Mark Armstrong was the best of the three British riders in the barrage, taking sixth place with a good double clear on Warren II. Mennell Watson took 11th spot on the British-bred former Horse & Hound Foxhunter finalist, Back In Business II, while a fence down for Andrew Davies on another British-bred horse, Danger Mouse, dropped them into 19th place.

    Mennell Watson had earlier gained a stirring small grand prix victory on Bobby Killorans Hi-Society Party. This time, 33 horses reached the jump-off and the British-naturalised Northern Irishman ended up 1sec ahead of Canadas Maurio Deslauriers onLa Belle Orion.

    European under-18 champion Lee Williams finished 12th on Granada and Guy Goosen (Lavaletto), Mark Armstrong (Watch Me II), Lianne Brennan (Angelene) and Andrew Davies (Limbo) were also in the money.

    The British went well in the18-horse small tour grand prix jump-off, which was won by Brazilian rider Fernando Guinato on Full House from Swedens Ulrika Nilsson on Galliano.

    Dupe Powell and Primma were third, just ahead of Adam Cove (Ascot T), with Fiona Milne (Pearl) and Emma Hunt, who has earlier won a good speed class on the stallion Vetiver De Gamet, in the placings.

    There were plenty of other British winners, led by Mennell Watson and Mark Armstrong, who headed big tour jump-off classes on Pakko and Twilight Again respectively.

    Russell Pearson and Aylwin galloped to victory in a small tour jump-off class and Charlotte Metcalfe (Hopes For Guy), Jemma Hill (Eliska De River) and Philippa de la Haye (Satchmow) joined Irelands Karen McCarthy (Cottage Fire) to win the small tour team class.

    Ben Dunning rode Baron Graphite to a 3sec victory in a five-year-old jump-off class, while Derek Morton and Its A Snip were equally decisive winners of a six-year-old equivalent.

    Ben and Baron Graphite also joined GuyGoosen (Leconte) among the 28 joint winners of the opening days five-year-old class, while there were 55 equal firsts among the six-year-olds.

    These included Henry Turrell (Santes Hooligan), Charlotte Metcalfe (Keltons Dolly), Veronique Whitaker (Noberlina), Lee Williams (La Ina), Guy Goosen (Lapira and Passamezzo), Mennell Watson (Killavil Cruise), Perry Colgate (Ross Towner), Matthew Broome (Whos Dilemma), Ben Dunning (Yours For Evermore), Tony Newbery (Carason) and Andrew Davies (Medio R).

    Sixty-five seven-year-olds shared first place in their class. These included Derek Morton (Its Mine and Gentle Breeze III), Guy Goosen (Imperium), Helen van Heyningen (Gitan DIncoville), Geoff Glazzard (Cash Back II and Agretto),

    Veronique Whitaker (Tropicana), Adam Cove (Mannix D), Lee Williams (Caland Lord and Mauritius) and Ricki Hill (Scarlett II).

    You may like...